Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Five photos, five days #2

13 Comments

Everywhere there are signs that say “Don’t feed the cranes.”

Mid-morning snack

Mid-morning snack

But cranes can’t read and apparently neither can humans.

A few weeks ago as husband and I walked around the lake at one of my favorite parks we saw many people standing still, hands upright while chickadees flitted.  And we were accosted a few times by chickadees expecting something special.

Imported Photos 00592

We didn’t have anything to give them, and think it’s wrong anyway.  But I have to admit it was fun to watch.  This little guy will remember forever the day he had the crane eating out of his hand.

Imported Photos 00755

This is part of the five photos, five days challenge that Carol put me up to.  Now I have to think about who to nominate to carry on the challenge.  Today I nominate the Cowspot Dogs, because they are living in a new place and have lots of places to show us.  Here are the rules, loosely speaking:  Post a photo (as you can see I’m having a hard time sticking to one photo.) and a story, fiction or non, or maybe even a poem, one a day for five days and each day nominate someone to play along.

Imported Photos 00564_edited-1

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Five photos, five days #2

  1. It is wrong, but oh, the thrill of having a bird or animal eat from your hand!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know. I had pigeons eat out of my hand (and sit on my head, shoulder, arms etc) in Venice at St Peter’s Square. That was the first time I realized how light birds are. It didn’t even bother me that they were dirty. It was just so cool.

      Like

  2. I agree…so very, very wrong. AND I have been known to feed a deer an apple and chipmunk a few nibbles. A crane would be so exciting. Just love the pictures! Well done.

    Like

  3. okay – we are up to the challenge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really want to get a chickadee to eat out of my hand. Maybe that will be on my summer to-do list. I’ve seen hummingbirds do it too. How cool that would be.

    I just posted my ‘day 1’ photo 🙂

    Like

    • Me too. I think I could get them to do that if I practice this summer too. You’ve seen the “Mr. Bill” statue right? You dress it up in your clothes and put seed in it’s hand so they get used to it, then eventually you put your own clothes on and sit in the same spot. I think we could just practice sitting still and leaving seed on the railing…then moving it closer. They are such brave little birds! Of course Katie couldn’t be there…she’s such a barky girl.

      Like

  5. Thats pawsome the crane eating out of the hand. Wow.

    Like

  6. Something wrong about teaching wildlife to expect food from humans, but oh, these are cute!!

    Like

  7. I am conflicted, too. It would be an amazing thing, to have a crane eat out of my hand. But… I wouldn’t do it because it doesn’t seem the right thing to do. (Like those humans who feed the wild horses on Assateague Island.) Still and all, great pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

