Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Five photos, five days #1

19 Comments

I’ve been nominated by Carol at Wanderings of an Elusive Mind to play along on the Five Photos, Five Stories challenge.  Each day for five days I need to post a photo and a story, then nominate someone else to join in.  So here goes.

Most of you know that Katie has a favorite park.  Turns out that lots of people enjoy Katie’s park for all sorts of reasons, not the least is that there are parts of it that are very photogenic.  One evening as Katie and I were packing up to go home after a walk we noticed this:

Senior photo shoot

Senior photo shoot

I’m sure this young man is one of next year’s seniors.  And that he plays in the school orchestra which must be a large part of his high school experience.

Watching them brought back memories.  More than forty years ago I was having my senior photo taken outside.  It was a new thing, back then, to take senior photos outside a studio.

Forty + years ago

Forty + years ago

I wonder now what caused my folks to choose this particular photographer, someone who was doing something so different.  I don’t remember being part of the decision, but I remember the afternoon spent in a field getting my picture taken.   I’m sure the young man Katie and I watched last week will remember his photo shoot too.

I wish him a wonderful, happy, and musical future.

So the hard part is thinking about who to ask to participate.  The rules are simple, post five pictures with stories, fiction or not, perhaps even poetry.  Nominate someone each day to continue the challenge.  Today I nominate Sara for purely selfish reasons; I want to see some more photos of her boys.  I know she’s super busy with school this time of year, so I’ll understand if she can’t play, or can only post a couple of photos.  But I hope to see Oreo and Chewy soon!

Just yesterday

Just yesterday

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

19 thoughts on “Five photos, five days #1

  1. Nice, Dawn. Memories are a lot like dessert, aren’t they?

    Like

  2. Love the senior photo shoot – great location.

    Like

    • Thank you Cath. I can’t remember exactly where it was…it was so long ago. But I see kids all the time now in similar places getting their photos take by people with giant cameras.

      Like

  3. that is a neat idea for photos – studio pics always look so staged – go au natural seems the best option

    Like

  4. I remember that! I remember you liked beige, brown, and green and natural colors, and the outdoor senior picture seemed very appropriate.

    Like

    • Thanks Beth! I brought home a box full of pictures of us from school…I’ll see if I can put together a set for you. Unless Mom already made you a set. These might be spares.

      Like

  5. I love that just yesterday photo. beautiful

    Like

  6. Ok, I’l play, as long as it doesnt have to be five days in a row!

    Love your senior photo. Around here, people still do traditional indoor senior photos. Too bad. Outdoors is so much better.

    Like

  7. Cool! I took Domer’s senior pictures — he wanted to save money, I wanted to spend last-minute quality time with my son before he left for college. We both won!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your senior photos are wonderful! I enjoyed the story and the photos. Very much. 🙂

    Like

  9. Enjoyed your senior photos!

    Like

  10. Beautiful photos Dawn! I remember my senior photos, too. I didn’t particularly enjoy the day – didn’t feel like I was up to the photographer’s par. Hope I never make anyone feel that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

