Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Dreams

17 Comments

Apparently I was dreaming this morning.  And this is how it went:

My husband, brother, and I had a meeting with Governor Snyder (Michigan) to talk about truck safety issues.  But the night before I had to sleep overnight at the hospital because I had a blood draw scheduled for early in the morning.  And there was confusion about when the transport van was taking us to the meeting in the morning.

Morning comes after a restless night sleeping on an uncomfortable bed.  I can’t get my husband and brother to get moving and the nurse is there for the blood draw and I’m trying to find out when the car will arrive to take us to the meeting with the governor and she’s busy talking to some other patient.  Finally she takes my blood and tells me the car will be here at 6 a.m. but as its already 7:30 we’ve missed it.

Our meeting is soon, so the nurse drives my husband, my brother and I and, inexplicably, Howard Stern to the meeting location.  My husband and brother somehow got to shower.  I did not as there wasn’t time and I feel messy and unorganized.

We arrive at the meeting site, which appears to be a house with a two car garage that has been converted to a bedroom.  Katie (the dog) is in the house and is coming to the meeting too; my husband and brother go into the house to get her.  I sit in the van with Howard Stern and tell him this is not a media event, it’s a meeting about truck safety, and if I allow him to come he has to be quiet.  He says he’s never met the governor and would like to come.

He and I get out of the car, my husband, brother, Katie the dog, and Howard and I troop into the converted garage. Inside is a television camera, and a reporter that I didn’t expect. The governor is sitting in a chair wearing a mustard yellow shirt and bright green scrub pants. (This alone should tell you we’re in a dream – he only wears blue shirts at events like this, never mustard yellow.)  He hurriedly puts on a navy jacket and stands up to meet us.

There’s a bed in the middle of the room that we have to climb over to meet him.  I note that it’s not made and has grass clippings all over it.  Obviously Katie has been outside on a freshly mowed lawn and has jumped all over the bed.

I shake hands with the governor, others are introducing themselves to  members of my family.  The governor says “Let’s go talk a minute Dawn.” and we climb back over the bed and walk into a storage closet.

He wants to know why Howard Stern is there.  I tell him I’d told Howard that this was not a media event, but I wondered why there was a television camera there myself.  He said he would rather Howard not be at the meeting.

And then Katie the dog jumps on me for real to wake me up.  It’s 5:05 a.m.  I have a doctor’s appointment at 7:50 a.m.  Time to begin another day.

Which is just as well.

Our meeting with the governor wasn’t going anywhere anyway.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Oh I love a good dream story. 🙂
    Have you been to any of the places in your dream before? I have a sort of dreamscape where people, places and times seem to have peculiar connections and I drop in and out of here quite often.
    If your meeting wasn’t going too well, maybe you should think of an alternative ending and leave it in the back of the old grey cells for if it’s needed.
    Oh, and I hope your doctors appointment went well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s good Katie woke you for real – any man who wears a mustard yellow shirt and bright green scrub pants is obviously trying to be a dandelion and could not be serious about being constructive.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dawn, this must have been frustrating while you were dreaming it, but it’s rather hilarious in its detail. You know, somebody who’s into dream analysis would have a field day with this one!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. don’t you love the way our minds work when we are asleep 🙂

    Like

  5. Dreamland is such a strange place, isn’t it? I had a dream about trucks and truck safety, and thought of you. I wasn’t surprised by the dream. There was an accident on the Chesapeake Bay Bridge the day we came back from Ohio (last Saturday). A tractor-trailer hit a car and flipped. The westbound span of the bridge had to be closed, and we, like everyone else, had to sit in traffic for a long time, waiting to cross on one of the two open lanes on the eastbound span. My big fear while crossing is that there would be yet another accident since they were using the two lanes for two-way traffic.

    Like

  6. Robin – That is a whole other problem that comes from careless, sleepy, distracted semi driving…the inconvenience and cost of it to all the others stuck on the road. I have not heard of anything like a class action suit for something like this. Can’t say it could not happen though. Thanks for the link.

    Like

    • Just read the article. 7 people were very very lucky, as was the driver, as was the eco system. The whole thing could have been so much more a tragedy. These are the kinds of crashes that no one outside the immediate region hears about because people didn’t die…but they are examples of how things happen instantly. And why they shouldn’t be happening at all.

      Like

      • It seems like there are always truck crashes in the news lately, Dawn. I don’t know if I’m more aware of it because of you and the work you do, or if they are happening more frequently. Shortly after we moved here there was a crash on the Bay Bridge in which a truck hit a car and the car popped up and went over the rail and into the water. The woman miraculously survived, managing to get out of her car and swim to some rocks near the bridge. And earlier this year, not far from where I live, a family of five were killed in a crash with a tractor-trailer.

        Like

  7. Dreams are so cool! I love how everything gets all jumbled together. But how the heck did Howard Stern get in your dream?

    Like

Leave a Reply

