Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Happy Mother’s Day

18 Comments

She grew up in the country, lived in many different places and traveled throughout the world.  She was a talented musician and artist; she played piano at a nursing home on Wednesdays, and her church organ the day she died.  She made the best potato salad ever.

Braun and Badger 050

But mostly she was a mom to four of her own kids and scores of others – friends of ours that felt welcome in our home, sat at our dinner table, laughed and played with our family.

Braun and Badger 010

Home is where your mom is, and these days she’s everywhere.

Braun and Badger 016

Happy Mother’s Day mom.  I know you’re planting your favorite purple petunias today, the ones that smell so good in the evening when you sit out on the deck.

Braun and Badger 047

Love you always.

Braun and Badger 059

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. that is a wonderful dedication – and those scented purple petunias are one of my favorites too

    Like

    • She loved the deep purple, velvety petunias when we were growing up. But the last petunias she planted were the fuchsia wave type that cascaded down from the pots. Pretty. The summer after she died one came up from seed over by the side of the house where we had emptied the pots the fall before. I sort of thought it was her saying Hi.

      Like

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to Dawn’s mom!

    Like

  3. This is just beautiful, Dawn — very sincere and I can hear the longing in your words. I bet your mom IS planting those ‘tunias!!

    Like

  4. I’m sorry for your loss. You never really get over the loss of your mother no matter your age.

    Like

  5. this was so beautiful. Sending you ((((hugs))) and love

    Like

  6. Cool pictures
    Happy Mother’s Day!
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  7. Beautiful, Dawn. I love the pictures. I’m pretty sure my mom made the best potato salad ever, but don’t they all? I’m missing my mother today, but also so grateful that she was Mom to me. How lucky is that? 🙂 *Hugs*

    Like

  8. Love the accordion photo and of course you with your saddle shoes. Your mom was a talented special lady.

    Like

  9. Happy Mother’s Day ( a little late) Dawn! I have heard so many comments about potato salad in the last couple of days that I am suddenly hungry for some… Can not imagine what it’s like when one’s mom is gone. Your mom sounds lovely.

    Like

    • Was thinking about making some myself last weekend..but the days flew by and I never did. Maybe next weekend. It’s a lot of work though…all that potato boiling and egg boiling and chilling and chopping. And then it gets eaten in 1.2 milliseconds. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

