Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Lonely chickens

16 Comments

We’ve been taking care of our neighbors’ chickens for the past couple of weeks.  Well.  I have only been up there a couple of times; husband has head egg collection duty.

Busy chickens

Busy chickens

But I went up last weekend and as I approached their space they commenced to clucking and racing around, coming up to whatever side of the pen I was on.   I think they miss their people.  Husband says no – they’re just excited to get fed.

Whatcha doing out there?

Whatcha doing out there?

Which could also be true.

But I prefer to think they enjoyed my company while I was there.  I talked to them and took their pictures.  I thought they were quite beautiful.

So are their eggs.

Yum

Yum

 

 

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Lonely chickens

  1. I think they’re lonely. I have a colleague who started keeping chickens a few years ago. He says they have distinct personalities, and he has come to look on them more as pets than as egg providers.

    But the food might have something to do with it, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sure they miss their people.

    They are gorgeous, and I bet their eggs are delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That looks like fun. (at least for a little while) . LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chickens actually do get attached to people – they become the flock leader and don’t feel safe when they not around. Many years ago I had the most amazing bantam chickens – they would follow me every where, sit on my knees and loved loved being patted. Nothing beats fresh laid eggs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sure they were happy to see you – getting fed was probably an incidental contributor to their excitement.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You are so lucky!!! Until I can have chickens of my own, I’d love feeding someone else’s once in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pet sitting, I mean Chicken Sitting, sounds nice! Mommy’s Sister’s neighbor had some chickens before, Mommy rolled an old tree log to the fence near the chickens and would sit on the log and talk and talk to the chickens. Mommy loved talking to the chickens. The neighbor doesn’t have chickens anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well, yes, I imagine they are lonely! Good of you and your husband to “chicken sit” for them!! Bet Katie would be a big help, rounding them up, you know!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yea..she would have been a BIG help. Which is why she didn’t get to go over there with us. Though she did sniff us suspiciously when we got back. I think she thinks we’re cheating on her.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

