Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Katie pronounces it officially summer.

15 Comments

Katie here.  Guess what, guess what, guess what?

At my park last night.

At my park last night.

It finally got warm!  And our grass is green!  And sometimes I get to sit in my kennel and watch the birds and bark at anyone on my street!  It’s amazing.  This weekend my mama even said she might put up the tent!  That means it’s summer, right?

Well, maybe not quite summer cause she never did put the tent up and we had to sleep inside the boring old house.  She said she was too tired.  I swear, that mama is always too tired to do fun stuff.

Well, I take it back, she did come home Sunday evening from somewhere all dressed up and she rushed out of her good clothes and put on her park clothes and we got to go to my park just as the sun was going down!

She said we had to get my dandelion photo, whatever that is.  And something about the park people mowing the grass if we didn’t hurry up.  So we rushed over there so fast she forgot my treats…and she marched me out to the middle of the field and guess what?  Apparently dandelions close up when the sun goes down!  Who knew?  So she found a little patch of them in the last bit of sun and said that would have to do for this year.

Boooorrrring

Boooorrrring

I found the whole thing terribly boring.  But then she and I walked all the way around the park and it was just wonderful.  Don’t you think the sun makes my coat look good?  I hear I’m going to the groomer Friday.  Maybe if you all tell her how beautiful I already look she won’t make me go.  It’s worth a shot, right?  I’d give you her private cell number to call her, but she won’t tell me what it is.

Golden sun on my golden coat.

Golden sun on my golden coat.

So anyway.  We also got to do weeding this weekend.  I’m not sure what that is either, but it seems to mean I get to lie out in the soft grass while my mama digs around in the dirt and gets all smelly.  She is definitely not a princess.  Sometimes I wonder why I hang out with her at all.

Then tonight after supper she and dad went back outside to weed some more.  I loved it because I got to sit in the grass again and watch my road.  I kept them safe from two marauding joggers and a couple of trucks.  Good thing I’m around.

But when the sun started going down mama said that was enough and now she and I are hanging out on the deck!f  The sky is getting all apricot, and there’s a big pink puffy cloud to the south.  AND…best of all mama saw the green herons come back for the summer!  All three of them flew over and made a big production of landing in our trees.  Boy they are noisy!  She seemed awfully glad to see them though.

AND we just saw a humming bird!  Mama put the feeder up yesterday cause she figured they’d be around by now and sure enough, just a few minutes ago a little hummer flew around our heads and went to the feeder!  He seems more skittish then he was when he left last fall, but he’ll get used to me.  I never bark at hummingbirds.  They are so cool and they make my mama happy.

So anyway, I almost forgot…mama says that by Friday it’s supposed to be hot here!  And if there aren’t any storms for sure we’re going to go camping in the back yard!  I almost can’t remember what that means, but I’m sure when I help her put up the tent I’ll be all excited again.

This was me last year!

This was me last year!

So all of that means it’s summer.  Right?  I think it is.  Princess Katie proclaims that summer has arrived.  I don’t care about stupid calendars and official dates.  I can’t count anyway.

Everybody enjoy this beautiful weather!  I hope no one has storms and you all get to go out for walks with your peoples or your dogs or (I suppose) even your cats.

Now I need a nap.  This weeding thing gets a girl exhausted.

See you soon in my tent!

Come camping with me!

Come camping with me!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “Katie pronounces it officially summer.

  1. we are going for 91 this weekend so we agree – it is summer already 🙂 Have fun camping this weekend Princess Katie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhh so sweet. I had to laugh at the keep safe from joggers and trucks. Such a sheltie.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed this immensely and I’m not usually a dog/cat person so it must have been good !

    Like

  4. Yes, summer is here….but I feel like I got gypped on spring. Why, oh why does it go straight from winter to summer?

    I think that when your mama is happy, you’re happy Katie! So bring on the sunshine!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah, Katie, I so love your posts! Yes, I think it feels like summer, too (where did Spring go, though??). Don’t fret about going to the groomer. Dallas just got back from there, and she combed out enough fur to make a small dog! Since we can’t find the buttons or zipper to help him out of his fur coat when it gets hot outside, shedding/brushing is the next best thing. You’ll see — you’ll feel better, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Shasta protects me from bad things like joggers and cars that go down our road too, and from things in the yard like squirrels and jackrabbits. Bailey backs her up, but says she’s too old to take the lead now. I tell them “good job!”, so good job, Katie!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your coat does indeed look lovely in the sunset glow, Katie. It feels like summer to me, too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

