Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Early morning musings

18 Comments

Katie is excited because it’s the weekend.  Me?  Not so much; it’s just another work day for me.  So when she wakes me up extra special early, even for a work day, I roll out of bed.  The sooner I get to work the sooner, in theory, I can come home.

My mind wanders as I get ready for work in the darkened house, Katie gone back to sleep on a rug in the bathroom.

Did you know that it is possible to fall asleep in the shower?  That’s why they invented those benches.  Far better, I’ve found, to sit down than fall down.

And when did it get so hard to put on socks?  I remember standing in the middle of a room on one foot, tugging a sock onto the other without thought.  Now I have to place my foot firmly on the floor and lean on the bathroom counter to get a sock on.  Better that I sit down for this too.

And wandering out to the living room, turning the TV on to watch the news as I eat my whole grain cereal I notice the traffic reporter is excited.  About what I wonder, thinking of my commute.  Turns out she’s excited because there are no traffic backups.  Of course not.  It’s 4:30 a.m.   And I wonder why all traffic reporters are young, blond, thin and so very chipper?

And what’s with the weather guy?  Do I need a countdown on how many minutes until the sun comes up?  Who really needs to know this?

Maybe I’m just grumpy that it’s Saturday and I’m making a peanut butter sandwich to take to work.  The better to avoid those vending machines that call my name when I’m frustrated.

No more delay.  I’ve shared my snarkiness with you.

Off to conquer my emails.

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “Early morning musings

  1. Working Saturdays is a very big bummer. Especially if the weather is nice!

    Like

  2. Sorry you have to work today. I remember my mom spending many a saturday at her job just trying to catch up. We were all so happy when she decided to retire.

    I really respect people like you who have a good work ethic. I feel as though that is a quality that
    is no longer taught and is quickly fading.

    Like

    • It’s my folks showing through. And me trying to make my Monday less terrible by getting some of it done now. By the end of the week I’m so far behind that Saturday gives me a chance to be somewhat even on Monday morning.

      Like

  3. Better to sit than to fall… you’re hilarious!

    Like

  4. Oh, Katie is going to be very upset when she realizes you are up early and it’s not to take her for a trip! But I know you will be spoiling her later on to make up for it. When I”m back to work again, I always work Saturday mornings at my gym (I get a free membership for working there so it’s worth it.) So I know how you feel. I hope it’s not a full day that you have to put in.

    Dawn, one of the things I love about your blog is that you are always so “Real.” I read every post – I don’t always comment because sometimes it’s through my phone when I first get up, but I love every post. You’re a real human, and share real emotions. So, thank you. (Oh, and I love Katie’s posts too. She totally cracks me up.)

    Like

    • Katie was very happy to see me come back home from work this afternoon. And yep, I’m already considering which park to visit.

      Glad you enjoy the blog, I know what you mean about not answering on the phone…just too frustrating to type all that stuff with one finger!

      Thanks for stopping by, I really appreciate it!

      Like

  5. i hope your day gets better! Hang in there and before you know it, you will be home and enjoying yourself 🙂

    Like

  6. You just keep reminding me of why I am happy to be old – and retired! As to the sock thing, I relate. Then there’s the crouching down to see what’s on the bottom shelf and praying for a firm support to get back up.

    Like

    • You’re the only one that really understands the industry Carol. I sometimes write just for you! I know, too, about the problem of getting back up off of the floor. I double think now before I get down there in the first place.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mommys niece just got a clarinet. Guess she got tired of the trombone. Got any clarinet tips fur her?

    Like

    • Wow! That’s a really big change. Tell her it’s all about finding the reed she likes and that works for her at whatever level she’s at. Don’t get one too hard at the beginning, it will make playing too difficult and be discouraging..and not every reed is a good one, tell her it’s not her, it’s the reed! :):):)

      I hope she continues to play both instruments!

      Like

  8. I’m sorry you had to work on a Saturday. As for putting on socks, I sit down for that these days. Otherwise, I might fall over and then I’ll have to figure out how to get up off the floor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

