Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Waiting

4 Comments

Friends and family south of us are sharing photos of flowers and trees blooming.  It’s a full out celebrations of spring down there.  It snowed again here this morning; not a blizzard but enough for us to realize winter still has us held hostage.

Remnants of last year

Remnants of last year

Katie and I explored the yard today, checking for signs of life.  She sniffed for spring while I pulled some grass from the perennial bed, felt the wet earth between my fingers, plucked a seed head from last year’s bee balm and crumbled it.   The aroma of last summer’s blossoms was faint but distinctive.

Deep beneath the winter debris of leaves and mulch are tucked the beginning of this season’s sedum.  And over by the fence hidden under last year’s ornamental grass is the bright green of poppy foliage.

Hope emerges

Hope emerges

I wondered.  Could it be that back behind the house there might be a surprise waiting?  It’s Easter today, and yes it snowed.  But look at the solitary snowdrop we found hiding behind the house.

 

Proof blooms

Proof blooms

It’s snow of a different kind and proof winter is relinquishing it’s hold.  So much hope manifested in such a tiny blossom. Spring has begun.

Even here.

 

Pre-poppy

Pre-poppy

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

4 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. Yay! The end is near. Still patiently waiting for our snow to melt, but we’re getting closer…….

    Like

  2. finally – warm sunny days ahead – we hope 🙂

    Like

  3. Your pictures are beautiful and provide hope! Thanks for sharing, Cheryl

    Like

  4. Happy Easter, Dawn! Yep, Spring is on its way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

