Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

She owed me

10 Comments

sunKatie here.  So most of you know that my mama works all day during the week but the weekends are supposed to be for me.  Just me.  Well, sometimes me and my daddy, but mostly me.  Well this weekend my mama went to work on Saturday morning!  She had me so confused!  I thought I had miscounted the days and it was only Friday!  But I was pretty sure I didn’t count wrong, and besides she didn’t take her lunch bucket, so I was suspicious.    I kind of thought she might be cheating on me!  But when she came back from work she didn’t smell like any other doggies, she smelled like she does every night, so I figured she had to go to that work thingy.

The rest of Saturday afternoon and evening I made her life miserable just to make her pay.  I wanted attention, attention, attention!  I wanted to play!  I wanted my supper!  And how about a treat mama?  Want to play in the tunnel?  Huh?  Huh?  HUH!?!?!  Yep I made her nuts.   And just to be really sure I made my point I got her up at 3:30 in the morning so we could go outside and wander around in the soggy yard and sniff stuff.  My mama really likes to sniff stuff in the middle of the night.  Yep.  I’m a good girl.

So this morning when she asked if I wanted to go on an adventure I knew she had gotten the point and I said “YES PLEASE MAMA!  HOW ABOUT RIGHT NOW?!?!”   And away we went!  We went down to Ann Arbor because mama wanted a photograph of something for some photo challenge.  I’m sure you’ll all see that soon.  I was bored during that part cause she parked and left me in the car.  Geeze!  Then she got lost on the way to my park and it took a gazillion million years, so I told her off.  She said she was sorry.  Mama should focus more.

Finally we got there!  Not much snow and lots of good sniffing!  And the sun came out too, it was perfect!  Some of you saw the video of us walking along the boardwalk with the birds singing.  That was the cleanest I was.  After that we were in mud and leaves and ice and snow.

I think I am the dirtiest I have ever been!  Feels wonderful! Mama never lets me get this bad, don’t know why she isn’t worried about it this time.  It’s not like I have a groomer appointment for next Friday or anything.  Do I mama?  Hey!  Mama!!  So anyway, we walked back into the hills and even climbed up to the top of this big hill.  Those leaves were slippery, but I found the best way up and mama followed.

I climbed to the top!

I climbed to the top!

Then we had to get down, so we walked down the ridge on this set of stairs.  Do you know what?  I won’t do stairs at home but I had no trouble hopping down these.  I’m hoping mama didn’t notice that I’ve been scamming her.

Really big stairs, no problem!

Really big stairs, no problem!

We stopped at a bench along the river and mama sat for a long time and watched the water go past.  I don’t know what she was doing, but she seemed to need to do it, so I stood around in the snow and let her.  I figured since she brought me on this excellent adventure I could at least let her have a moment of peace.   Then she tied me to the bench and went down to the river to take a picture of the rock out in the middle of the water!  Well!  I did not like that so I barked at her but she said it was too steep and dangerous for me to go with her, and besides if she fell in the river I was supposed to call for help.  Oh.  Well OK then.

 

Lots of water flowing now.

Lots of water flowing now.

After that we walked back to the car and I let this young couple pet me and talk about the lady’s sheltie she had when she was a kid.  She was nice.  She knew all about letting me get to know her first before she reached out to touch me.  She was a smart lady, and I liked her, but I’m glad I’ve got my mama.  She mostly tells people I’m too shy when they want to pet me so I don’t have to worry about it.

We had a wonderful time at the park.  I’m sort of feeling bad that I gave her so much trouble on Saturday night.  But not that bad.

It got me what I wanted.  Right?

 

Me and mama are a team.

Me and mama are a team.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “She owed me

  1. Awww, Katie. I’m glad you got your well deserved adventure. I bet it made your mama just as happy as it made you. Good job!

    Like

  2. Well about time – a princess needs her exercise and she needs to keep an eye on her realm – we think your Mom is letting the monarchy down a bit – Saturday and Sunday should both be YOUR day – no if’s butts or maybe’s and no silly old work on YOUR days.

    Like

  3. I think it probably was good for your mama to get out in the fresh air too. Good day for the two of you to relax and breathe deeply.

    Like

  4. What a wonderful adventure. I’m glad you were both able to escape for a an adventure. It’s muddy out there but that means Spring is on the way. About time, don’t you think? Uhm Katie about those steps- Good Girl!

    Like

  5. Well, Katie, I’m so glad you convinced your mama to take an adventure with you! Mamas need to get outside in the fresh air and sunshine, you know — but sniffing stuff at 3:30 in the morning isn’t part of the bargain! Nor is taxiing a Sheltie up and down stairs when said Sheltie is merely being…um…stubborn!! Enjoy your visit to the groomer 😉

    Like

  6. That photo of the rock in the water was worth it, Katie. Sorry! Anyway, you had a chance to have fun and get dirty, right?

    Like

  7. The snow covers up all the good smells. Petey is glad it’s going away too, but he doesn’t take me out in the middle of the night to sniff things. Wonder what I’m missing.
    So glad you got out with your mama to go on adventure. She’s lucky she’s got you – otherwise, she might’ve worked on Sunday too!

    Like

  8. Ah, Katie, your posts kill me! (Btw, you might want to play it real cool about the whole steps thing from now on…)

    Like

  9. Good job, Katie, getting that adventure you wanted. 🙂

    Like

  10. Love hearing about your adventures! Teddy and Daphne are going to FREAK OUT when the day finally comes that we head out for a good long walk. It has been way too long.

    Like

Leave a Reply

