Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Winged signs of hope

15 Comments

About this time every year I get so tired of it all.  Tired of the snow and cold and slush and wind and dark and…well…those of you that have ever lived up this way know.  I looked back at the blog for a few years and guess what?  Regardless of how easy or difficult the winter was, about this time of year I’m just over it and I start searching for signs that winter is over and spring has moved into my little part of the world.  Now I can’t guarantee that this winter is over, but here are a few things I’ve seen or heard in the past two days that might give us all a little hope.

Friday evening as I got home and went inside to gather Katie for our trek to the mailbox there was the sound of a robin singing somewhere near.  The light was bad but I searched the tops of trees and found a dark roundish bit of shadow that I believe was Mr. Robin.   This winter I spotted a robin at our bird bath, looking decidedly disgruntled with the snow.  Maybe yesterday’s was the same one, just a little happier.

Cold and hungry

Cold and hungry in January

This morning as Katie and I were out in the predawn darkness I heard a sound up in the neighbor’s oak trees that I’ve never heard before.  I couldn’t place it, and each time I looked toward the sound (which was coming from multiple trees) all I could see was a blue jay.  Couldn’t be, I thought, and went on my way.  This afternoon I went online and looked for some video of blue jay sounds.  Listen to the first few seconds of this.  Did you know blue jays make this sound?  I sure didn’t.  I wonder if it’s something they do in the spring?

Later in the morning as I drove to work a sandhill crane flew overhead.  Just one, which made me a little sad — I hope the spouse is somewhere near in a nest.  Still, it’s good to know at least one has come back for the summer.

And then the absolutely positively sure fired proof it’s spring – when I got home from work this afternoon the red winged blackbirds were decimating my bird feeders.

Hungry!

Hungry!

I hadn’t even heard them yet this year, and that’s usually my first sign.  But there they were, a whole flock of them hungrily scratching at the ground under the feeder.  They seemed a bit frantic.  These birds eat so much so fast that sometimes in the fall I stop filling the feeder until after they’ve left for the season as the rest of my birds can’t get near it to eat.  But they are a sure sign it’s spring, so today, in appreciation, I’m filling it back up just for them.

And for this guy.

Also hungry

Also hungry

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “Winged signs of hope

  1. I did notice my hyacinths are poking their heads out the ground this morning and that my trees have buds on them – spring is coming – we hope

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good news! We don’t have buds on anything yet, and nothing is poking it’s head out of anywhere but we can actually SEE the garden now, as today is the first day there was no snow on it! Katie and I went to check it out. Everything is soggy. But soggy is not snow, so we’ll take it.

      Like

  2. I usually feel that way in February and I am very tolerant of those red-wings – at first. my patience dims as the birdseed diminishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. the first signs of spring being on the horizon- love those red winged friends!

    Like

  4. Any signs of spring are wonderful in my book! How very lucky of you to have ground rather than snow to look at! Finally melting here, but we still have quite a ways to go.

    Like

    • It’s almost gone…I expect it will be totally gone by end of the day tomorrow. Now the ground is so soggy where Katie does her business that she’s choosing to walk in the leftover snow. Silly girl.

      Like

  5. Interesting sound. I was hoping it was a different one, because we’ve had birds make sounds in April that I’ve never heard any other time, and I have no idea what bird it is. It’s such a great song, and I’ve never even been able to share it with Tony 😦
    I think we’re all tired of winter. Everyone up here is so elated with the warmer weather. Hope this next week keeps us all happy 🙂

    Like

  6. I saw some blue jays yesterday! We’re still buried under snow, but for now, its better than mud!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think it’s a leftover from my days living down south, but I tire of Winter much earlier now (like by January’s end, ha!). Today is drop-dead gorgeous, though — sunny and 60 degrees — and I found more signs of spring for you. Tiny green where the daylilies are going to come up, more green where the daffodils are emerging, and green leaves in among the azaleas. Now, if we can just get past any spring ice storms!! (And no, I’ve never heard a blue jay make that noise, though I have heard the noise before — thanks for educating me!)

    Like

  8. You’re way ahead of us. We’re just glad to be to the cold wet but no snow stage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

