Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress photo challenge: Orange

14 Comments

Oddly enough this week’s photo challenge is ‘orange.’  It’s ironic, because I used orange as a unifying color in a photo challenge a couple of weeks ago.  So of course I can’t use my photo of oranges from that post.  And that would be too obvious anyway.  So I spent Saturday and a bit of Sunday scouting out orange things that represent life here in Michigan in March.  When there aren’t any orange things blooming.

 

Once I started looking for orange I found it everywhere.  From my toast in the morning, to the bittersweet vine on a bush down the street, to the orange snow fencing everywhere, the gumballs at the mall, the lights on the side of a restaurant, the Detroit Tiger English D, the New Balance shoe in a shop window, to the ever present orange barrels, orange is everywhere!  And the orange car?  I followed it for a few miles before it turned into a Wall-mart parking lot.  Then I circled the lot until the driver went inside.  Couldn’t resist showing you an orange car, right?  Cars + Michigan.  Can’t beat that.

 

You can see other interpretations of orange here, here and here.  And I bet, if you look around, you’ve got a little bit of orange somewhere near you!  It’s nice to look for some color during these last long days of winter.  Show us what you found!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “WordPress photo challenge: Orange

  1. Well done! 🙂 I would have followed the orange car too. I turn into a stalker when I’m trying to come up with things for photo challenges.

    Like

    • Me too! How weird is that? It’s just a little challenge…but you get this idea…and you can’t let it go. I searched two car dealerships for an orange car and found one that was sort of orange, and when I was leaving that lot this bright orange car drove by and I was on his tail!

      Like

  2. That’s a lot of orange! Good job, Dawn.

    Like

  3. fabulous choices for orange!! Especially the Detroit ones 😉

    Like

  4. we use to love doing the color challenges – it is amazing when you look around how much you really see

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like the orange snow fence. It lets people know where you’re at.

    Like

  6. Cool pictures of orange. Like those sneakers
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  7. GREAT job, Dawn — I personally wouldn’t want an orange car, but I’m glad you found one to photograph. Yep, cars + Michigan — a match made in heaven, I think!

    Like

  8. I love orange! There is an orange subaru around here that always catches my eye.

    Like

  9. A whole lot of orange – good job in Michigan!! It’s amazing how you see things more once you start to pay attention to them. I read somewhere that if you find a penny on the street, it was put there by an angel who was thinking of you. MAde me start to see them everywhere.

    Like

  10. So amused at the orange barrels and snow fence! Those might be even more Michigan than the cap and car 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

