Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Weekend concert

15 Comments

Most of you know that I play in a local community band.  Each year in February we attend a community band festival in a town about an hour away.  Community bands come from all over to perform for 3 adjudicators who give us feedback on our work.  For those of you that have been in a high school band, it’s like going to band festival.  Without the sight reading part thank goodness!  It’s exciting and fun and stressful all rolled into one music filled day.

And this Saturday is the day.  We’ve been working really hard on the UFO Concerto by Johan de Meij.  The piece is in 5 movements and we’re doing the first two.  You can listen to some of it here.  The first movement runs, on this particular recording, from 00.0 until 5 minutes and 9 seconds.  It’s really beautiful.  But what I really want you to hear is the second movement…starting at 5 minutes and 9 seconds and going until 10 minutes and 49 seconds.  It’s crazy and it’s taken awhile to grow on me.  But I found myself humming this at work on Tuesday.

Believe it or not.

What makes this Saturday even more stressful, other than this being a very difficult piece to play, is that the composer is one of the adjudicators!  And to top it all off, he’s the one that will be meeting with us after our performance to give us his perspective on how well we played.  Yes indeed.  I have never played anything knowing the composer was in the audience, much less knowing he’s going to critique us after!

So what I need from you guys is a whole lot of strong good luck, musical vibes headed over to Okemos Michigan at 9:00 a.m. this Saturday.   We’ve worked hard, but a little extra luck can’t hurt!

I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “Weekend concert

  1. Best of luck Dawn! I’ve never played an instrument so I am probably not the best to comment but forget the audience and just play for the music. Can’t wait to hear how it was.

    Like

  2. it really really remind me in some parts of the music from Close Encounters – especially when they are playing with the tones…..it will be a challenging piece for sure

    Like

    • It’s a play on words…sort of. UFO does stand for aliens out in space, but Euphoniums (Baritones) are often called Eupho’s…pronounced Ufo. It’s a neat piece of music…and the recording you heard was the best I’ve found so far.

      Like

  3. Good luck to the whole band!

    Like

  4. That’s so awesome you’ll get to meet the composer of the piece you’re playing, Dawn — it should be a very memorable occasion. Best wishes to your entire band! Sounds like a very challenging piece, too!

    Like

  5. Good luck! Your band will be pawsome!

    Like

  6. You will be judged by the composer?! Talk about pressure! But I know your band will perform well. You always do, when crunch time rolls around. Best wishes for success!

    Like

  7. This is a piece of music where you have to keep your head down and just COUNT!

    Like

  8. Sending you lots of luck and good musical vibes as requested. Bet it all goes well. 🙂

    Like

  9. How cool and stressful and awesome. Hope it went great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

