Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress photo challenge: Rule of Thirds

19 Comments

Some of you have heard about the rule of thirds; the placement within a composed photo of the point of interest near the intersection of lines drawn dissecting the  entire image into thirds.  It’s one way of adding interest to a photo.    Katie the sheltie-girl and I went out to see what we could find that was fun and interesting.  And though I took plenty of photos of her sitting dutifully in her lower right corner, the photo I like best out of all of them was this, a hurriedly composed shot, with only one chance to get it before he moved out of sight.

 

Going for a walk

Going for a walk

It was the man’s orange hat that caught my eye just as I was putting Katie back in the car.  I rushed her back out into the parking lot and grabbed the shot.  This is not a classic rule of thirds image as the rest of the image surrounding the subject is not empty.   If I’d had more time I’d have raised the camera a bit and had less snow, (you know, about a third of the photograph) in the foreground.    But I only had one split second, and I like the result.

If you go to the original challenge post you’ll see an absolutely beautiful redbud leaf and the description of doing the rule of thirds while also focusing on creating a bokeh, that interesting and beautifully blurred background.  I messed around at home trying for something similar.  This is as close as I got before the afternoon sun sank and my kitchen reverted to uninspiring.

Orange afternoon light.

Orange afternoon light.

This also is not classic.  The background isn’t blurry enough and the subject is certainly taking up more than a third of the foreground.  I’ll be trying this technique again. But still.  I like the color and the warmth and the light.

The fun about these photo challenges is that they make me think a little bit about how to answer creatively before I run out to find the actual image.  I like the adventure of  finding new photos, trying new things, and the challenge both gets me out of the house with the camera (and sometimes the dog) and makes me see the world around me in a slightly different way.   Today while driving I was looking for something that divided into thirds.  This morning at the grocery store I was looking for something interesting for a an indoor bokeh.

Without the photo challenge I’d probably have spent the afternoon doing laundry, and how fun is that?  For more fun rule of thirds images go here, here, here and here.

And this one too.

Katie’s kind of miffed that she’s not the star of this post.  But she’ll get her turn.

She always does.

Never ignore a princess.

Never ignore a princess.

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

19 thoughts on “WordPress photo challenge: Rule of Thirds

  1. Knock knock. Who’s there? Orange. Orange who? Orange u glad u took pictures of things that were the color orange.

    I know–that joke was sour!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Although I liked the first one and thought it was perfect for the topic the second one made me really sit up and take notice. Great shot.

    Like

  3. Can’t ignore princess 😛

    Like

  4. Anything that inspires you to look for fun photo shots and unique compositions is wonderful this time of year. I think the “rule of thirds” should really be the “guidelines of thirds” because sometimes when you don’t follow the rules perfectly, you come up with a shot you really enjoy. The warm orange shot is really nice – great to see colors other than white!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember other photo hunts about this time of year when we were looking for color. I still see the red door that inspired me one year and the blue ski lift that inspired me another year.

      Like

  5. I love how much you’re learning about photography, Dawn, and how eager you are to share your new knowledge! The “rule of thirds” is pretty prominent in web design, too. As for the princess, well, yes, we know she’s eager to have her say!!

    Like

  6. It can be hard to find interesting things to photograph on grey winter days. You did well. And I LOVE your photo of the oranges.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We actually had some sun while we were out at the park. Still…the woods is brown, the snow is white….but they guys hat is orange! LOL….and I like the oranges too. I almost gave up, the sun was dying, but it was fun and I liked this one.

    Like

  8. I love the oranges too. Really nice interpretation Dawn.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love that first photo. It reminds me of my dad. Whenever we go anywhere, he is always several steps ahead of everyone else. I’m surprised I know what his face looks like! And he would wear bright colors to stand out in the crowd.

    The oranges are beautiful!

    Like

  10. Pingback: WordPress photo challenge: Orange | Change Is Hard

Leave a Reply

