Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress photo challenge: Symmetry

19 Comments

If you go to the original post you’ll see inspirational photo which is gorgeous…and looks just like shots we took of a similar fort in Maine this past summer.  Friday I had lots of ideas about things to photograph that show symmetry.  I had plans for heading out on Monday, a holiday from work, to see what I could see.  But it’s 5 degrees Fahrenheit (-15C) right now and it’s going to get colder the rest of this long weekend and the wind is blowing making it even worse.   So it’s very possible I won’t be going anywhere.  I figured this would be yet another photo challenge that I missed because I just can’t get out of the house with my camera.

Then I looked out my kitchen window, watching the wind whip snow across the back yard.  And I saw it.

 

Aliens?

Alien?

I have no idea what sort of animal would make tracks like this.  It looks like a giant turtle pulled itself up to the bird feeder and then back out to the woods.  But it’s certainly not turtle weather at the moment.  Here’s a closer image.  What do you think made these?

 

Two aliens?

Two aliens

Maybe it was Winnie the Pooh’s mysterious Heffalump, but whatever it was I like the symmetry.

The wind has now covered up the tracks; I was lucky to notice it when I did.  If you’d like to see some other images of symmetry, try here, here, here and here.  Or go to the original post and look at all that have been submitted so far.  The challenge lasts for a week, so check there again later and you’ll see even more!

What’s symmetric in your life?  I hope it’s a warmer image than mine.  I, for one, am thoroughly done with all the winter snow and wind.  I’d like to photograph a symmetric field of corn or the symmetry of a dahlia blossom.  I might still go and try to find some colorful symmetry.  We’ll see.

How about you?  Can you find a bit of symmetry somewhere around you?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

19 thoughts on “WordPress photo challenge: Symmetry

  1. I suspect it was one of those cyclepotamus that have been spotted touring the country recently.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What about a rabbit that was too daffy to go back onto his own prints?

    Like

  3. maybe a pair of bunnies hopping side by side?

    Like

  4. Nicely shot! Thanks for linking to my post too.

    Like

  5. Hmmmm. what a mystery! Really cool!

    Like

  6. Really interesting markings. They appear almost mechanical in their symmetry.
    Amen, sister, on the snow. So tired of nothing but white out there.

    Like

  7. I’m also betting bunny.
    This is a great photo Dawn! Like you got a reflection of sorts 🙂 I’d make a photo for you, but I think it would be even colder 😦

    Like

  8. I can’t imagine what could have made tracks like that, Dawn. I’d guess the wind, but rationally, I just don’t see it. As for the symmetry, yes, I do see that, and it’s lovely.

    Like

  9. Definitely a Heffalump, but not a Woozle 😉
    This is a fun post.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Symmetry: The Making Of | My Atheist Blog

Leave a Reply

