Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Saturday is all about me.

16 Comments

Princess poses in the sun.

Princess poses in the sun.

Katie here.  What?  You thought Saturday was all about my mama?!  Foolish readers, of course Saturday is all about me.  Cause I’m a…well..you know.  Anyway, the sun is out today and my mama is home and she said to me “Hey baby-girl, it’s a pretty day, want to go outside and play Frisbee?”

Well of course I did!  I got all excited when I saw my Frisbee, and started running around and yipping and doing other un-princessly things.  Mama should learn not to ask me these questions before she’s dressed for the adventure, cause I make it very hard for her to get dressed after she’s introduced the concept of go outside to play to me.  She’s a slow learner; I say that every weekend.  Except maybe last weekend which was extraordinary.  She was on her game then, that’s for sure.

So she finally gets dressed and we go outside.  Did you know I have my very own park outside my back door?  Yes I do and I have it all to myself, which is only right given it’s my castle grounds and all.  What a beautiful day!  Blue skies and white snow and a Frisbee!  She threw it for me a few times (she’s not very good throwing the Frisbee AND taking pictures!) and I ran around and barked at her.   Sometimes I even brought it back to her.

Throw it again mama!

Throw it again mama!

 

Then she made me sit for ‘pretty’ pictures next to the birch trees.  Geeze…that is so boring mama!!!

 

Yea I look pretty.

Yea I look pretty.

And then we played recall where she calls me and I run to her really fast.  (You can click on the picture to make it bigger so you can see beautiful me running!)  Did you know she forgot to bring me any treats?  Big letdown.

Coming mama!

Coming mama!

So she throws the Frisbee again and I run and get it and then I prance it right by her and take it back to the house.  No treats?  No performance mama!

The jig's up mama.

The jig’s up mama.

Told you she’s a slow learner.  Anyway, I hopped right back up on my deck because I just know there’s a chipmunk that lives under there.  He was making me crazy!

I can hear him!

I can hear him!

Then mama said “Leave it, let’s go” and I came right back into the house with her.  Cause I’m a good dog and almost always do what she asks me to do.  She said, “Let’s go write up your adventure in the back yard girl.”  And I said…”No thanks mama, I’ll wait out here in the kitchen in case any treats that I deserve happen my way.”

I'll be in the kitchen mama.

I’ll be in the kitchen mama.

Hint hint.

Geeze.  She’s such a slow learner, my mama.

Sigh.

Sigh.

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Saturday is all about me.

  1. I so love you Katie! Your stories are so cute! So you are having fun.. Sometimes I wish I were you..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now really – we will have to inform the doggie union about this – taking pics and doing tricks without rewards is so NOT allowed even if you got to have lot of fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. you are such a sweet girl! I sooo hope you received the treats you so rightly deserve! You are lucky to have a park right outside of your door. I would love to play frisbee with you! Oh and my Mom LOVES birch trees, she thinks they are soo pretty! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, Katie, your mama is no longer a spring chicken – although she’s still very spry – and it gets harder to remember things. At least she remembered to play with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. looks like a beautiful, fun filled day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Try howling next time Katie. You were definitely entitled to some treats.

    Like

  7. Gee, Katie, you really didn’t get cookies after all that? Somehow, I think you’re pulling my leg!

    Like

  8. How could she furget the treats!

    Like

  9. That must be a mama epidemic Katie, and a TND one, he always asks if we wanna walk then he has to get changed and put shoes on and we run all over his feet barking and banging into each other…
    You look very pretty in the snow anyway!
    ~Lickies, Ludo

    Like

Leave a Reply

