Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Planning our escape

25 Comments

Pretty light

Pretty light

This is that in between time here in the Midwest.  After the warm holidays filled with lights and family and good food and days off work but before the seed catalogs filled with lush green images of plants and blossoms and the LL Bean catalogs filled with swimsuits and walking shorts fill our mailboxes with hope.   For many of us it’s an empty time of year filled with cold windy gray afternoons sandwiched by  cold dark mornings and early dark evenings.  Some of us can only see endless days of shoveling snow and scraping windshields.

We think it will go on forever.

And so we dream.  We dream of warm sandy beaches and blue skies.  Palm trees or dessert cacti.  Maybe both.   And we plan.  We look at maps and brochures, scout destinations online.  We huddle around our fireplaces or over warm drinks and talk about exotic sights, intoxicating music, crowded markets.  Heat.  Laughter.  Fun.

Sometimes we get to go on those dream vacations.  Sometimes it’s not possible.  But here’s the thing.  While we are dreaming and planning, researching and reading, we experience the fun and sun in a different way.  We get to explore the possibilities and the impossibilities.  And it is fun.   Our souls warm while we dream and plan.  The days get lighter, we notice the sun more often.

The weight of winter slips just a bit.

In these last weeks of January take some time to dream, even to plan.   Find warmth and fun wherever you can, but be observant.  The days are getting longer; soon it will be February and those seed catalogs will be in our mailboxes.

And we will once again shed the gray and move toward the sun.

I’m counting on it.

Pretty bird

Pretty bird

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

25 thoughts on “Planning our escape

  1. I’ve been doing just that – looking at where I can go that fits in the budget. A road trip I think, with Shasta girl being my guard dog, my company, my alarm clock.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sounds fun Carol. There’s a website, something like ‘bringfido.com’ that will let you find dog friendly hotels. OR…you can maybe arrange to visit blogger friends along the way!

      Like

  2. Right now, I dream of snow days! I guess thats one of the luxuries of being a teacher. You still get to anticipate those mornings when school is closed for the day and you get to PLAY!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember those snow days from when I was a kid. Unfortunately they never happen in banking. We got one day off when the entire 1/3 of the country electric grid failed, but being a manager I had to go in anyway. Sigh.

      Like

  3. Beautiful photos- winter so far has been kinder to us here in the Northeast than last year- each passing day brings us closer to spring!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sixty-three more days until Spring, Dawn — hang in there!!

    Like

  5. You’ve hit the nail on the head here Dawn. I think a large part of vacation fun is the pre-planning. As long as you don’t take it too seriously and set unrealistic expectations, it’s like a whole second bonus vacation that you went on mentally first 🙂 Sending you some sunrays from somewhere warm – because it’s cold and dark up here 😉

    Like

    • I love the planning of trips. The anticipation. My mom did too which was why I never (only once) surprised her by just showing up. She loved to think about her kids coming home.

      Like

  6. Beautifully written and ohhhhhhhhh to be in Hawaii!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. There is another big advantage to staying in Michigan and dreaming over maps: avoiding expressway exhaustion! While the sun is gorgeous and very welcome, driving straight into it, blinded, at the end of every day takes a toll. I was missing Michigan this morning, and I think Sarah was, too. She thinks the desert is like a big kitty litter box and wonders what it has to do with her.

    Like

    • Hahaha…she’s probably just tired of being in the car. You’re on a wonderful road trip to a beautiful and totally different part of the country! Enjoy!!

      Like

  8. Love these thoughts Dawn. I’ve been dabbling a little at planning an escape. It is most likely a little dream that won’t happen, but it is fun to look.

    Like

  9. I like how you described this mid-winter ritual, Dawn. Oh we do love our little dreams, don’t we? Whether we actually go or not, it does seem to lift our spirit through the dark snow-filled days and nights. Wondering where you might want to go if you could dream yourself anywhere?

    Like

  10. Very pretty bird! I sort of miss those days of planning a get-away. We don’t feel the need to do that here, at least not as much as we did when we lived in the snowbelt. That said, I still find February to be a long, drawn-out month. Maybe this year I’ll spend February dreaming of exotic places. 🙂

    Like

  11. My sister lives up in Michigan and quite frankly, I don’t know how you all do it! I’ll do my best to push some sunshine up your way! (

    Like

Leave a Reply

