Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Abundance

11 Comments

Abundance of ice.

Abundance of ice.

Abundance:  “The great or plentiful amount” as defined in any number of dictionaries.  Katybeth over at Odd Loves Company chose tarot cards for some of us at the beginning of the year, then asked us to think about our word, how we could incorporate it into our lives, figure out what it meant to each of us.

My word was abundance.

I sometimes think about abundance when I’m at the grocery store, walking past the wall of cereal choices, or picking through mounds of produce.  But most of the time I don’t give it much thought.  And surely I am not alone in taking for granted the abundance in my life.  Especially the abundance of stuff.

And that’s what it’s all about, right?  The abundance of stuff?  That’s why we all go to work – to pay for all the stuff; the house, the nice car, the trendy shoes, the best cuts of meat, that great bottle of wine.  Because we’re used to having abundance.   And we think we’ll be happy once we get that next great thing to add to the abundance we already have.  Won’t we?

Abundance of deer food.

Abundance of deer food.

But I’ve been thinking small lately.  There’s a growing trend of living in tiny houses, and even HGTV has jumped on the band wagon and now has a version of the show House Hunters that follows people looking for a tiny house.  I’ve read a few blogs and articles that talk about the lifestyle.  I think the most difficult thing is the downsizing, the divesting of a lifetime of accumulated abundance.  And if you were to succeed at that…would you no longer have abundance?

Or would you, perhaps, recognize an abundance of a different kind?

Looking through my rose colored glasses I think you’d have an abundance of freedom and an abundance of choices for how to spend your day.   And a person living tiny would still have all the abundances that really matter.  Family love, good friends, a sense of serenity and peace, quiet times and times to share.

So on this winter weekend as I consider the abundances in my life what do you think?  How tiny could you go?  Have you looked?  Not all tiny houses are log cabins on wheels, I’ve seen some stunning glass and wood houses perched on hills overlooking the woods or grasslands, other tiny places that melt into the landscape and let a person enjoy the abundance that nature has to offer.

It’s a thought.

It's a process.

Tiny is a process.

 

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Abundance

  1. I would find it easier to downsize than my husband, his joy in life are machines, tractors, plowing a field etc. Mine…art. I could be quite content living in a studio with living quarters! Even in a large house we can squander our time. Using time to do more of what you love…leaves you trimming down the things that don’t matter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I could go smaller than I what I have now – and certainly I have a lot of “stuff” that I could eliminate – but tiny house would probably not work for me. Maybe if I had two of them . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yep, an abundance of beautiful things right around us
    Lily & Edward

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are good points, Dawn. I think we ALL could stand to downsize a bit — we’ve all got way more than we need (in some cases, way more than is good for us!). Being grateful for everything we do have seems a better way to live.

    Like

  5. having spent my first living in a 22 foot caravan (trailer) and travelling around Australia – abundance was something we never had and never needed. It is something I still carry with me now – I have a simple question I always ask myself when thinking of getting something – is it something I just want or is it something I need. The vast majority of the time it is just a want – so I don’t get it.

    Like

  6. I have two tiny house books sitting on my kitchen table right now! And bags of ‘stuff’ to go to good will. Dreaming BIG for a tinier lifestyle. Jeff and I think we could do 600-700 square feet.

    I went to Shaker High and grew up near several Shaker villages, and love so many aspects of what Ann Lee and her sect were trying to create in their little utopia. The Shakers sang, “Tis a gift to be simple”, which inspires me in so many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have two tiny house books sitting on my kitchen table right now! And bags of ‘stuff’ to go to good will. Dreaming BIG for a tinier lifestyle. Jeff and I think we could do 600-700 square feet.
    I went to Shaker High and grew up near several Shaker villages, and love so many aspects of what Ann Lee and her sect were trying to create in their little utopia. The Shakers sang, “Tis a gift to be simple”, which inspires me in so many ways

    Like

  8. With two persnickety cats and a dog, and lots of visitors, a tiny house isn’t in the current deck of cards for us. But we are getting rid of some of our abundance, that’s for sure! Even as we accumulate more stuff, I do my best not to collect more just to have it. Definitely food for thought.

    Like

  9. I’m not one for tiny houses but aspiring toward less materialism is a goal. I like space but I don’t need so much stuff filling that space. I just purged a great number of holiday decorations over break and it was cathartic! You start to get into that zone where eliminating stuff feels good but then you get a little crazy eyed and start looking for more stuff, stuff that you actually need.

    Like

  10. Having recently downsized, I find that I have an abundance of time when it comes to getting the house cleaned. Half the house takes half the time to clean. Maybe less because I’m becoming less persnickety when it comes to my definition of clean. We still have an overabundance of stuff, but we’re slowly working on that. It’s easier for me than for my husband. It wasn’t always that way so I am learning to be patient with him.

    I’ve seen some wonderful tiny houses. I’m not sure I could downsize quite that much although it would be tempting if it means even less time doing chores. 🙂

    Like

  11. I have been working on downsizing stuff over the past few years and the more I get rid of, the better I feel. And the more I wonder, why exactly did I have all that stuff anyway?? I realize now that a lot of it was for “Security” and because I grew up with a mom who always thinks to buy two of things, especially if on sale, because, you know, “just in case” I need it in the future. I just donated a bag of clothes yesterday and honestly, it felt great. But I look in my closet and there still seems to be a lot of stuff there!!

    I have also been obsessed with the tiny house movement – if it were just me I could probably go with the smaller houses, but I have lots of pets, so probably when I move, I will try to get a small house or condo of like 500-600 feet. The cats each need their separate space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

