Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: New

7 Comments

It’s a new year…what makes it new for you?  WordPress has challenged us to look around and find something new.  For those of us in Detroit this Sunday it’s an obvious choice.  The Detroit Lions are playing football in post season, their first foray into playoff football in many years.  Since 1992 to be exact.  1992 might not seem so long ago until you remember that the senior Bush was president, and Black or White by Michael Jackson was the number one song.

Outside city offices in downtown Detroit sits a sculpture titled The Spirit of Detroit.   In the Spirit’s left hand is a gilt bronze sphere symbolizing God, and in his right hand are people representing family.  And when one of our sports teams is in the playoffs the Spirit dons a team jersey.

 

Excitement in the city.

Excitement in the city.

It’s something very new for the Detroit Lions, but this weekend The Spirit of Detroit is sporting a jersey of Hawaii blue and silver.

And while we’re on the topic of Detroit, the blue jersey may be new, but being tough sure isn’t.  Across the street from The Spirit of Detroit is another sculpture, a memorial to the boxer Joe Lewis.

 

Detroit is strong...like Joe Lewis.

Detroit is strong…like Joe Lewis.

Detroit has just come out of bankruptcy and is blossoming into a new leaner and more vibrant city.   It’s turning into the kind of city where parents take a newborn downtown to be photographed in front of an iconic sculpture.   The kind of city where people smile and wait patiently in a gentle cold sleet for their turn at photographs.  Where they know the meaning of family and toughness and patience.

It’s a new Detroit and I can’t wait to see it in this new year.

You can see other interpretations of the concept of new at the original link at the top of this post.  Or you can see a few of my favorites here, here, here and here.  Enjoy.

And… Go Lions!

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: New

  1. So delighted to hear things are improving in Detroit! For far too long, your city has been on a downward slide; it’s about time Detroit had some good news to share. I’ll bet Katie would’ve liked having her picture taken in front of that statue, hint hint!!

    Like

  2. It’s been many years since I was in Detroit – I will hope that its future is bright and that it grows stronger. I will cheer for a victory for the Lions.

    Like

  3. How nice to hear someone say positive things about Detroit. I’m glad that there is an upswing, and I’m sure the new Detroit will evolve into something wonderful. Adversity can bring really good things!

    Love both sculptures!

    Like

  4. It is good to hear Detroit is recovering – when I first came here we were back and forth to Detroit with Dave’s job – we we stayed was quite nice but I will always remember driving through Gross Point and seeing all these beautiful houses and gardens then crossing an intersection and being in a very scary area of downtown. I couldn’t believe the difference from one side of the road to the other.

    Like

  5. I have not had a very good time the times I’ve been to Detroit. I sure hope you’re right about it being on the upswing. Lots of news reports seem positive, so that’s a good sign too 🙂
    Love the bit about Spirit. Almost enough to visit. Almost 😉

    Like

  6. I am so glad to hear things are better in Detroit. I liked the feel of Detroit on my one and only visit. I hope to get back there again someday. I love that the Spirit is wearing a team jersey. M and I were just talking about the Lions and hoping they make it.

    Like

  7. It’s nice to see a post honouring your home. So many people fail to see the good, because they see it everyday and it’s so easy to go somewhere else and think how wonderful it is. It’s an advantage of working in tourism I think, I get to see where I live through the eyes of people who are coming on holiday all the time.
    The sculptures are really good symbols.

    Like

Leave a Reply

