Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Sunday afternoon surprise adventure

14 Comments

Katie here!  Hey, bet you didn’t expect to hear from me again so soon!  My mama doesn’t let me have her blog very often you know, but since it’s Christmas and all I guess she’s feeling generous.  Or she doesn’t have anything to say.  Either way it works for me!

In the Arboretum.

In the Arboretum.

So she was lying around the house all weekend.  I was plenty bored but after awhile I just gave up and went off to sleep in my secret places.  But then she turned off the TV and said: “Katie-girl!  Where are you?”  And of course I came running because whenever my mama calls me I get right to her as fast as I can in case she’s handing out treats and such.  Well this time she was still on the sofa and she asked me if I’d like to go for a ride with her.  A ride!  Well OF COURSE MAMA!   I jumped right on top of her and licked her in the face and then I barked and barked and barked and then I jumped off of her and ran to the door and I barked and barked and barked and then I ran around the sofa a bunch, and then around her feet while she was trying to walk and I kept barking.

I guess you get the picture.

 

Grandpa & Grandma's rock

Grandpa & Grandma’s rock

So anyway, my mama took me down to see her Mom and Dad’s rock on the banks of the Huron River.  She’s been missing them lately, what with all the family movies and advertisements and stuff on TV, so she took me for a visit.

I never got to meet them.

I never got to meet them.

I wasn’t the least bit interested in the river or the ducks that she said were “right there baby!”

Ducks are boring!

Ducks are boring!

I was much more interested in the other people and their dogs.   We only stayed at the rock for a moment or two and then we went walking in the hills.  It sure was pretty back there.  I guess they got a little snow, but mostly it was just wet leaves.

A little bit of snow.

A little bit of snow.

As we were climbing up and down the hills my mama kept saying “Easy, easy girl” so I wouldn’t pull her and her camera down into the mud.  Silly mama.  Like I’d ever do that.  When I didn’t have her hanging on to me I was as nimble as a mountain goat!

Running down a hill.

Running down a hill.

We had a really good time.  We talked to a couple of people who were out walking their dogs.  One lady in particular had a dog named Gus and we walked with them for awhile.  The lady was talking to mama about camping with Gus.  Mama wishes she had gotten the lady’s name, she says she thinks we could have had a good time going on walks with them again.

Lots of good sniffing!

Lots of good sniffing!

I slept all the way home, but don’t tell my mama that.  I like her to think I’m always vigilant.

Don’t you know.

IMG_0484

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Sunday afternoon surprise adventure

  1. A wonderful adventure Katie! your response sounds a lot like Arran and Ludo’s when they hear the w word. Glad you had a nice time with your mama. Keep looking after her, Ok?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, she looks after me all the time. Like right now, it’s after 10 p.m. here and she’s out in the kitchen barking in case a treat needs to be dispensed. To her.

      Like

  2. Your mama is so good to you, Katie. She must really love you a lot!

    Like

  3. you got to have two adventures – that is the best ever

    Like

  4. Sounds like a good adventure, Princess Katie — here, we’ve been having a LOT of grey days, many with rain. Ugh, not good for long-furred Shelties!

    Like

  5. What an excellent day! I’m glad Katie got to see the stone. What a special spot.

    Like

  6. Wow Katie that was pretty cool seeing that special rock. It looks a bit chilly out there
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  7. A most excellent adventure, Katie! I hope your Mama is feeling a little less sad after her outing with you. That’s a very special rock.

    Like

  8. What a wonderful day and I like the sentiment written on the rock.

    Like

Leave a Reply

