Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo challenge – yellow

14 Comments

I know.  Yellow??

The point of the original post was that we are surrounded with holiday colors this time of year, blue and silver, red and green.  But does yellow have a special meaning for anyone this holiday season?

Turns out it does for me.

 

Sandy's favorite color

Sandy’s favorite color

 

This time the photo challenge isn’t about finding an interesting representation or a stunning photograph.  This time it’s just about friendship and nostalgic memories.

And jingle bell socks.

You see there once was a woman here at work who loved the holidays so much that as Christmas approached she wore socks with jingle bells sewn into them.   We all smiled as we heard her coming and going.   I wrote about her last winter when she died after a short illness; how she was everyone’s ‘work mom,’ confidant, advice giver, listener.  How we were going to miss her.

Her favorite color was yellow, and everyone at her funeral wore yellow ribbons in her honor.  I pinned it to the dusty dirty wall of my cubicle last February and look at it every day.  I can still hear her voice and her laugh in my head,  and I hope I will always be able to bring her to mind and smile.

I’ve been thinking about her a lot these past few weeks as the holidays descend, as work stays crazy and home life gets crazier.  And once in awhile when I hear the faint jingle of a bell I’m pretty sure it’s her checking in on us.

If you see me walking around grinning it’s because she’s still with me whenever I see the color yellow this holiday season.

So….how you doing girlfriend?  We miss you.

Merry Christmas up there in heaven.

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “WordPress Photo challenge – yellow

  1. Very poignant post. I’ve always liked yellow too.

    Like

    • I think you were here at the same time I was over on your blog! 🙂 Merry Christmas. I like yellow too…though I never associated it with the holidays before.

      Like

  2. it is always special to have a friend like that

    Like

  3. Yellow is my favorite color too. Daffodils, smiley faces, sunshine, lemons, big yellow school buses (although these days, they’re more orange), babci’s flowers.

    Maybe your friend has a yellow Christmas tree this year! Surely, anything is possible!

    Like

  4. She must have been a special person to have everyone still missing her, remembering her, and looking with fondness on her! Love the idea of the yellow ribbons, too! Merry Christmas, Dawn, to you and yours — give that Sheltie Princess an extra cookie or two, okay? It’s hard being a doggin when the humans are so busy!!

    Like

  5. This is a beautiful tribute to your friend. I would do the same thing – keep it with me at work so it could quietly remind me of her and what she stood for, every day. Merry Xmas to you, Dawn.

    Like

  6. Beautiful tribute, Dawn. Yellow is such a bright and cheerful color that I’m convinced those who claim it as their favorite color must all be bright and cheerful too. Anyone with jingle bells on their socks has got to be a bright, cheerful, and great person. Bet she’s still wearing them in heaven. 🙂

    Like

  7. What a nice gesture for that special lady
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. Nice photo & sentiment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

