Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Freedom v.s.security

7 Comments

I ran across this documentary today, and though I can’t say I identify with every person in it, and I don’t necessarily think the government is deliberately creating fear and demanding that we buy more stuff for some evil purpose, I do identify with those in this piece that value their freedom enough to learn to live with less in order to enjoy it.

I recognize that everyone has different dreams and that sometimes practicality wins over any dreams at all.  But I don’t think a person should give up on the dream, and in the end that’s what this documentary is all about.

It’s 50 minutes, and for me the best parts were scattered throughout.   If you’ve got the time, watch.  And then think about what stuff you would be willing to  live without if you could trade all your stuff for the ability to do what you love every day.

Even if what you love doesn’t include living in a van off the grid in the wilderness.

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Freedom v.s.security

  1. I spent from the age of 8 to 18 living in a trailer and I must admit I loved it. I got to see so much of Australia and met some amazing people and would do it a heart beat again.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the link. I watched the documentary and it only confirmed that I am on the correct path.

    –Mike

    Like

  3. Oh, I’m going to have to watch that. Jeff and I are sincerely thinking about downsizing bigtime and simplifying our lives, so we can both retire early. Very early. Like two years from now.

    I’m not struggling with giving up the things, but I am struggling with losing my really, really good health insurance and fat pension. But can I really keep doing what I’m doing for another 12 years? Do I want to?

    Like

  4. We wish Mommy could find a job where she could work from home. That would be wonderful.

    Like

  5. I’ll definitely check it out, and suspect my feelings fall fairly close in line with yours. Before we moved up here – when I didn’t know what kind of employment I’d have – Tony and I determined what we wanted life to be like. It’s a constantly changing thing, but sometimes less really is more.

    Like

  6. It sounds interesting. I’ll check it out. I’ve been in the mood to shed things, to lighten my load. I’d rather spend my time doing things I love than taking care of things. 🙂

    Like

  7. That sounds like a good one – added it to my Watch Later list on my youtube account.

    Like

Leave a Reply

