Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge – Minimalist

11 Comments

The concept of a minimalist photo is simple.  You might even say minimal.  It should contain a large amount of negative space and a somewhat monochromatic color scheme.  And if you can, it should tell a story.    This morning we woke to our first significant snow, so large parts of our world were monochromatic; I found this right outside my front door.

Imported Photos 01885

I’m not sure this is totally correct, I don’t see negative space for example.  I’m hoping to get out tomorrow to search for another example.  But you never know about tomorrow, so I’ll put this out there for now.  You can see other examples of minimalist photography here, here, here and here.  And especially this one.  Or go to the original link and read all about it, then look at the hundreds of submissions attached.

Meanwhile I’ll enjoy looking for another bit of minimalism.  You can too.  I’d enjoy seeing what you come up with!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge – Minimalist

  1. This is a really interesting composition, Dawn. Almost more of an abstract painting than a photo.

    Like

  2. 🙂 I can almost feel the cold and wet that’s implied in this picture! Great choice!
    HAPPY weekend! 🙂

    Like

  3. Minimalistic and ominous… a sign of what Mother Nature has up her sleeve.

    Like

  4. For me, your shot fills the bill nicely.

    Like

  5. Love it! Although, I’m not sure I’m ready yet…….I better have Jeff put my snow tires on tomorrow.

    Like

  6. I heard y’all got some of the white stuff. First snows are pretty, but too often, they tend to hang around forever — and welcome ALL their relatives for an entire season!

    Like

  7. What a cool picture
    Snorts,
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. seems too soon for snow doesn’t it

    Like

  9. this is nice – it’s something that’s so common, but we don’t take time to notice it! thank you, also, for the shout-out.

    Like

  10. I think it works. It’s very bare, yet it makes a strong statement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

