Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Walktober

35 Comments

 

I was going to take you on a walk somewhere exotic.  Far from here.  Somewhere different.  I had maps out and was studying locations.  But then I discussed it with the dog.  Katie said she wanted to show you her little park.  And Katie, being a princess, is used to getting what she wants.  So come along while Katie and I show you the local park where you can often find us on a pretty weekend afternoon.

The park is not very big, but it has a lovely pond where you sometimes see people fishing.  Today we had it all to ourselves.  Katie likes to pose near the blue water.  If there are treats involved of course.  (You can click on the photos to see more detail.)

See?  This is my pond!

See? This is my pond!

It was a pretty afternoon, getting late in the day, stretching our shadows as we made our way to the back of the park where they mow a path around the perimeter.

Enjoying a warm October afternoon.

Enjoying a warm October afternoon.

The sun also made the milkweed seeds glow as a stiff wind began to pull at the silky strands.

 

Soft.

Soft.

My favorite part of the park are these golden trees at the very back.  I always love the way they show against the sky, whether the sky is blue like today or stone grey as fall acquiesces to winter.

Gold in the sky.

Gold in the sky.

The mowed path is just about a mile and Katie and I work a little bit on her distracted recall.  It’s an important skill to have; she comes running even when distracted by good smells if I call her sharply.

I love to run & I get treats too!  Win win!

I love to run & I get treats too! Win win!

She loves this game, because she knows the faster she gets to me the sooner she gets a bit of cheese.  This automatic reaction is necessary in an emergency and we work on it a little every time we’re in the park.

We keep wandering, and pass another pond, filled with wildlife.  I saw two kingfishers chase each other from the top of a tree near us off across the pond.  No photo of that, but it was fun to see and hear.  Across this pond, filled with ducks and other waterbirds you can see the township offices including the library.

See the library way over there?

See the library way over there?

I feel lucky we have such a wonderful natural place surrounding our library.  You can sit inside and read while enjoying the lovely views through big windows.  It’s one of my favorite places.

We’re lucky to have a place where we can walk among wetlands and towering trees in all seasons, in all sorts of weather.

Fall just makes a person smile.

Fall just makes a person smile.

Every time we’re there we find something beautiful.  Just look at the trees shine across the big field of tall grass.

Up in the front of the park are four softball diamonds.  Katie likes to walk around them too.

This big green area is fun to explore too!

This big green area is fun to explore too!

You never know when someone might have dropped something good there.  Always looking, that’s my girl.

Thanks for coming along on our Walktober!  And thanks to Robin too who coordinates the posts from all of our walks.  Katie and I wouldn’t have gotten out today without her motivation.   And we had such a good time!

We hope you did too!

Another perfect day at my park!

Another perfect day at my park!

 

 

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

35 thoughts on “Walktober

  1. Katie is not only a princess, but a smart princess. She was right, her park is a lovely place for a Walktober!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It hardly looks like the end of October in MI. Where’s the snow? It’s been beautiful down here as well. Cole is crashed out in bed after this morning’s ramblings… I may have to go supervise him 🙂
    Tell Katie that Cole never noticed me putting those treats in your drawer!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The “Katie Princess Park” is just beautiful and the special girl deserve to have her own special park

    Like

  4. A lovely walk! I especially like the photos of the milkweed and of Katie running back to you with her fur swishing in the wind!

    Like

  5. What a gorgeous day you had! Good day for some quality girl time 🙂

    We saw a bunch of bluebirds at our park yesterday, and today we were treated to a double rainbow…and then a downpour! The rainbow made up for the wet hair.

    Like

    • Sounds like a great time Sara! I wonder if the bluebirds were getting ready to migrate somewhere else? Or just having a bluebird party. Rainbows always make up for downpours.

      Like

  6. We’ve always loved seeing your park, what a treat to get a more detailed tour. It looks lovely, especially with the autumn colours creeping in! We would love to have seen those king fishers!
    Well done Katie, good choice!
    -Dee and the boys

    Like

  7. What a lovely Walktober entry, Dawn. October is one of the best months to walk, isn’t it? Especially on those warm days that make us appreciate the last bits of summer so much. Happy weekend!

    Like

  8. Who cares how big it is? It’s lovely! Beautiful pond and grasses. I’m going to pretend I didn’t read that bit about fall acquiescing…
    We always think Petey is doing well with his recall. And then he surprises us by running off after a chipmunk and us having to retrieve him :-/ He hiked over two hours off leash with us the other day (the one with all the golden photos), and never strayed. Yesterday we left him off leash for a bit, and off he bounded after a squirrel. Any thoughts on practicing squirrel-distracted recall?

    Like

    • Squirrels, chipmunks, rabbits, cats…those are hard to proof against. My only advice is to do distracted recall when he’s on a long lead at least once or twice every time you’re out, with lots of praise and treats when he comes right away, and if he doesn’t you tug him to you and praise him when he gets the idea. Still. If it’s a SQUIRREL you just might not get his attention, but you never know!

      Like

  9. Does Katie know how lucky she is? I hope so!

    Like

  10. Looks like a great place!! Love the milkweed!

    Like

    • It’s not as spectacular as other places we go, but it’s the perfect size for her and plenty to look at. We like going there, and it’s located really close to home, so that works out well too.

      Like

  11. If I’d known you way back when I got Dallas, I’d have insisted you teach me how to teach him to come even when distracted! I never EVER would think of letting him off leash in a wide open space (beautiful as yours is). He’d be off exploring, chasing squirrels, and probably getting into a bazillion burrs — then would refuse to come, treats or not!!

    Like

    • Dallas is 8 like Katie…right? Never too old to learn. He’d probably love the game just like she does. When are we going to take them for a walk together?

      Like

  12. Such a beautiful walk, Dawn & Katie! I think the little park is the perfect place for a Walktober walk. Thank you for joining in. I think the princess deserves an extra treat for deciding on such a lovely spot. 🙂

    Like

  13. Pingback: Wonderful Walktober Walks | breezes at dawn

  14. Princess appears to be a happy companion. Love the grasses … and thanks for the stroll.

    Like

  15. Katie is a doll! What a lovely companion to enjoy such a gorgeous autumn day. I love the golden grass and milkweed photos!

    Like

  16. You did good listening to Katie. That was a wonderful walk and what a lot to see too! Those pictures were awesome and in my humble opinion, I’d redo it to make them bigger. Keep them low resolution so no one can steal them and do anything, but redo it so that when you insert the media, you use “large” instead of “medium”. The pictures are worth it.

    Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  17. A very nice walk, indeed! Sometimes we forget that the simple and familiar is just as much a gift as the exotic and unfamiliar. I think Katie made a great choice! Thank you for letting her direct your walk and for taking us along!

    Like

Leave a Reply

