Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Porcupine Mountains

11 Comments

So much to show you, so little time!  Friday we spent in the Porcupine Mountains.  I’ll wait while you go check a map to figure out where that is.  (Elevator music now playing.)

Foot bridge over the Presque Isle River

Foot bridge over the Presque Isle River

 

OK.  So now you know they are on the very western part of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, over by the Wisconsin border, but up along the coast of Lake Superior.  What?  You didn’t know Michigan had an Upper Peninsula?  That’s another blog; for now I’ll leave it to you to do your research.

 

Patiently waiting...

Patiently waiting…

The Porcupine Mountains are truly beautiful and desolate all at the same time.  We spent a long time wandering the trails beside the Presque Isle River.  It flows from the mountains and into Lake Superior….

The river meets the lake.

The river meets the lake.

…over a series of waterfalls.

 

A man and his dog enjoy the view.

A man and his dog enjoy the view.

We hiked way up to the third in that series, through deep woods, over hill and across crevices …

 

In the woods.

In the woods.

…and through swamps.

 

Walking the plank.

Walking the plank.

It was wonderful.  Not all of the trails were as strenuous.  There’s something for everyone at the Porkies.

Just a walk in the park.

Just a walk in the park.

 

Thirty-three miles away but still in the park is Lake of the Clouds.  Can you tell how it gets it’s name?

 

Clouds reflected.

Clouds reflected.

The road climbs up and up and up and finally there you are, high above a beautiful reflective lake.

 

We were there in the morning so we had to wait for the sun to come up and out from behind some clouds…

And then the sun came out.

And then the sun came out.

…but when it did the trees were spectacular even though it’s past peak leaf watching season.

Fantastic views.

Fantastic views.

There are many trails in the Porcupine Mountains.  In fact you can hike from the Presque Isle River all the way over to the Lake of the Clouds along the edge of Lake Superior if you like.

Grazing.

Grazing.

That would take us about 15 weeks, but you could probably do it in less time if you train.  It’s getting to be late fall now, you’ve got all winter to get in shape for a spring hike.  Up here spring should arrive sometime the end of June.

 

Yep lots of time.

You get ready.  I'll wait here.

You get ready. I’ll wait here.

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Porcupine Mountains

  1. You’re bringing back some memories, I was in that area last Spring. It is beautiful, especially with your photography! Verizon cut off my internet capabilities while I was in Canada, in in NC this morning, working my way back home. Thank you again for the hospitality and the invite for next year. You bet. I look forward to seeing Katie’s gang again!

    Like

  2. so why didn’t you take miss katie with you – she would of loved it

    Like

  3. It looks absolutely amazing! I bet you went to bed tired and full of peace.

    Like

  4. Thank you for doing this walk for me – I’m feeling a bit lazy today. It’s beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Like

  5. I’ve never been there, but wow what a fantastic view. 🙂 x

    Like

  6. The Porkies are gorgeous this time of year! Wish he had time to go. Perhaps next year.
    I think you did great with the leaves – doesn’t look past peak at all!

    Like

  7. Ahhh, you make we want to go over to the Porkies and explore. How beautiful! What lovely photos, Dawn. Don’t you love this time of year?

    Like

  8. What a beautiful spot, Dawn. The only thing missing was one Princess trotting along beside you! I’ll bet she’s plenty miffed by now at being left behind, too. Cookies — LOTS of cookies!

    Like

  9. Wow. What a beautiful spot. We need to check this area of the country out. Maybe fall next year. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  10. OMG. (I don’t use that often, just so you know.) What a stunningly gorgeous place to hike! Your images are so beautiful. I want to be there. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

