Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

On the road again…

11 Comments

As the last post hinted we’re on the road.  Want to come along?

First stop was meant to be just a quick break, a little walk after a few hours of driving, a check of one of our favorite lakes.

 

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

Lake Michigan.  With a stiff wind from the west we got to see some pretty nice waves.  I kept my camera hidden inside my winter coat most of the time; the sand was blowing with the wind.

Amazing!

Amazing!

 

There were huge waves being blown into the channel at South Haven.  Pretty cool to watch.  Someone I was with got his feet drenched.

 

Huge!

Huge!

I did not.  Just saying.

Then on past Chicago.  I love Chicago…really I do, but we had places we needed to be, so we just waved at the city as we went by.

Chicago!

Chicago!

Milwaukee was really pretty from the freeway too.  But I didn’t have the camera out and it passed in a flash.

By late afternoon we were near Port Washington Wisconsin.  There were only two hotels advertised on the freeway, a Super 8 that we could see from the highway exit, and a Holiday Inn that was in the other direction.  We headed toward town and the lake.  And this was our view for the evening from our hotel room.

 

The other side of Lake Michigan.

The other side of Lake Michigan.

This morning we are going to explore what appears to be a cute little town in search of breakfast a bit more satisfying than the buffet scrambled eggs and orange juice offered by the hotel for $6 each.

And so the adventure begins.

 

Good Morning!

Good Morning!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “On the road again…

  1. How you got to dig some holes in the sand
    Lily & Edward

    Liked by 1 person

  2. looks like a great place to explore

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful scenery, especially at this time of year — good for you, taking a few days’ vacation. But, since you didn’t mention ‘the princess,’ I’m guessing somebody’s going to need some pampering upon your return!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Seeing lake michigan makes me shiver! I lived a mile from the lake for a year once, and boy was the water always frigid! It sure is pretty though.

    Like

  5. Uh oh! Does this mean Katie has been left behind?

    Like

  6. Lovely waves on Lake Michigan! Looks like the start of a great adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

