Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It’s all about the water here.

13 Comments

We’ve been traveling up the coast of Wisconsin, along Lake Michigan.  We didn’t get much further north today than where we stayed in Port Washington last night.

 

Morning fishing.

Morning fishing.

That’s because we slept in and then spent a few hours this morning exploring the pretty little town.  We walked way out on the breakwater; it’s all huge rough stones that you have to climb up and down.  When I was a kid this would have been a breeze.  Now?  Not so easy.

Walking the wall.

Walking the wall.

 

It's harder than it looks!

It’s harder than it looks!

Then on our way back from that adventure we came across a fisherman landing a salmon!  Huge fish!  I felt sorry for her (he said it was a female)…but it was still interesting to watch.  It took two guys, one with the pole and one with the net to bring her in.

Almost as big as him!

Almost as big as him!

After that adventure we wandered into town to find breakfast.  As we walked up the main street we saw this beautiful church high on the hill.

Cute town.

Cute town.

Of course we had to go up there and see.  Saint Mary’s Catholic Church is stunning, built around 1870, the stonework is beautiful.  It’s beautiful inside as well, though we didn’t take any photos inside.  It has an absolutely huge pipe organ up in the choir balcony.

St. Mary's

St. Mary’s

Then we accidentally found the old lighthouse, built in 1860 while we were trying to find another way down the hill.  Sometimes you find the prettiest, most interesting things when you just wander around!  Too bad it’s only open on Sundays.

Old light house.

Old light house.

Finally we had breakfast which was actually lunch and then we headed north, mostly along the lake.  What a beautiful afternoon we had, watching the lake, the birds, and seeing other lighthouses along the way.

Love this lake, from both sides.

Love this lake, from both sides.

Oh!  I almost forgot!  We also stopped in Manitowoc at a maritime museum and got a tour of a WWII submarine!

Submarine!

Submarine!

During the war the country didn’t have enough capacity to build all the subs that were needed, so they tapped a shipbuilding company here in Wisconsin to build more.  They towed them down the Mississippi to get them to the ocean.  This one, like the one we toured out in LA, was really interesting inside.

Forward torpedo bays

Forward torpedo bays

So that was our day.  Now we’ve settled in for the night.  We’ll see a bit more in Door County Wisconsin tomorrow, then head over to Green Bay for meetings tomorrow night and Wednesday.  We’ll share more when we’re able.

Meanwhile, hope you enjoyed the scenery as much as we did! (Some photo credit goes to the husband.)

Evening sun + red lighthouse = magic

Evening sun + red lighthouse = magic

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “It’s all about the water here.

    • I thought so too. I had to ask the older guy who caught it what it was. He looked at me like I was crazy, then proudly told me it was salmon. I think the boy was his grandson. We heard him say to his grandad as we were walking away, “How come you catch all the fish and we don’t catch anything?” 🙂

      Like

    • It is beautiful over here…but a lot of it reminds me of Michigan. Other than yesterday when the fields of yellow soybeans ran right up to Lake Michigan’s blue. That was pretty spectacular. No I didn’t get a picture…we were on the freeway. But I’ll remember it, that’s for sure!

      Like

  1. looks like a fun place to explore! and I know you love exploring 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exploring is one of my very favorite things to do! Wisconsin feels like Michigan in many ways, but slightly different enough for me to know I’m somewhere else.

      Like

  2. what a wonderful adventure. If you get a chance make sure you check out Perry island.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks like a wonderful adventure. It brings back memories, too, from when my husband and I traveled around Lake Michigan. Door County is such a beautiful part of the world. 🙂

    Like

  4. Wow! I love the sub tour, thanks. I was on the eastern shore of Huron, did you see me waving at you?

    Like

  5. Nothing more peaceful than being around water
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  6. Dawn, I’m so glad you’re having a Great Lakes autumn vacation! Great, eh? Hope that fantastic bookshop is still in Ellison Bay in Door County. And what a coincidence, you touring a submarine in Manitowoc, as an old fishing boat David has loved for years, now back in the water in the harbor at Grand Marais, was built in Manitowoc of surplus submarine steel!

    Another friend posted on Fb about his hopes that Gov. Snyder will decommission oil pipelines under the Straits of Mackinac. “It’s all about the water,” i.e., the safety of our Great Lakes water. Yes, indeed. Beautiful and precious!

    Like

  7. What a beautiful trip — and thanks for sharing it with us! The church is especially lovely — that must have been a very popular style for churches, as we see a lot built similarly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

