Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo challenge: Signs

11 Comments

Many years ago, seven to be exact, I spent a week in New York City as an intern at the Queens Public Library.  It was part of my graduate school experience, and it was wonderful.  Not the internship so much, but the New York City experience.  It was my first time there, and I negotiated the subway from down near Chinatown out to Queens every day and just soaked in the…well…the New Yorkness…of it all.

This week I’m very busy in a different part of the country and I don’t know if I’ll find a new shot that I find interesting.  So for this photo challenge I’ll give you one from that week in March of 2007.

New York City March 07 056

Signs of a commercial shopping center reflected in the windows of the Queens Library.  It made me smile then, it still makes me smile today.

I hope you smile too.

 

To see other examples of signs go here to the original post and check out the comments.  Or here and here and here are a few of my favorites so far.  There’s still a whole week to post so there will be lots more of wonderful interpretations I’m sure.

If I were you I’d check back at that original post again in a few days!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “WordPress Photo challenge: Signs

  1. Very cool shot! I bet even though the signs stay the same, the look would change a lot depending on the time of day and weather.

    Like

    • Probably would. I was only ever out there during the day. Then I’d scuttle back onto the subway and head back to the city and our orange room at the hostile where we were staying. Almost surreal experience, all of it.

      Like

  2. sign of the times ……..nothing ever stays the same anymore

    Like

  3. Great shot! But here’s the weird thing… I think I may have been to that spot! I’m going to have to go through my photos to be sure. It looks so familiar!

    Like

    • Nope, not it. Darn close, though, as it was in Flushing (a neighborhood in Queens) and it’s so similar it’s eerie. I was there in June of 2007.

      Just reading my first comment and it sounds so funny. Probably millions of people have been to that spot. lol!

      Like

  4. A whole week interning in NYC?? Sounds wonderful, Dawn. And your photo *does* make me smile!

    Like

  5. It was pretty cool. Though if I showed you the room the 4 of us stayed in at a hostile you’d probably cringe. All part of the adventure. I should show those photos someday.

    Like

  6. Love your brightly colored reflected signs, Dawn.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Signs | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

