Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

What’s your favorite part of the weekend?

10 Comments

Imported Photos 00692Friday night, snug at home, out of work clothes and into something more comfortable, putting the badge up on the shelf where it lurks until Monday morning.  That’s my favorite part of the weekend, when hours spill out into the future, nothing quite set in stone, potential for adventure or rest hiding just out of site, yes that’s my favorite part of the weekend.

Or Saturday early morning waking up automatically at 5:55 a.m. glancing at the clock and sighing because you know that alarm is going to shriek in five minutes and then you realize it’s Saturday and you don’t have to listen to that obnoxious sound and you turn over and snuggle back into the warm blankets and soft pillow, now that’s my favorite part of the weekend.

Maybe it’s at 6:05 a.m. when your sheltie-girl sighs and stands up  and shakes and you know any semblance of sleep is over because she drops a kiss on your face and then stares at you while softly whimpering until you give up feigning sleep and gather her up and head out into the day.  Yea, that’s pretty sweet too.

But don’t forget the sheltie adventure planned for some time in the next two days; a hike through the woods on a beautiful fall day,  or a romp in the backyard with her Frisbee, can’t beat that, surely that is the favorite time of any weekend?

This weekend we have company coming on Sunday.  Katie says she thinks, for this weekend anyway, that is going to be her favorite part of the weekend.  She’s resting up now in anticipation.

So, what’s the best part of your weekend?  Inquiring minds (and shelties) want to know.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “What’s your favorite part of the weekend?

  1. So hard to choose!

    We just took our long fall walk through the woods at the park. It was magical with the morning light, fog breaking, yellow and orange leaves on the trees and crunchy leaves on the ground. Later it will be 80 degrees…perfect for reading a book on the hammock and being outdoors all day.

    It’s all my favorite! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. it use to be spending time with my dad – but the last few months he has been work 12-14 hour days including saturdays so we hardly get to see him. On sundays he he just too tired to much apart from look for a new job cause he says this one is going to kill him !

    Like

  3. Not to flaunt my freedom or anything, but every day is a weekend now. Back in the day, I think my favorite part of the weekend was the morning hours when I could linger over my coffee and decide, in a leisurely manner, what I would do with that day that was all my own. That’s probably my favorite part of every day now.

    Like

  4. I didn’t have weekends all summer, but now I do: Sunday & Monday. All the parts you mention sound like good candidates for favorite parts. We expect to see old friends tomorrow evening, and Sarah loves company, too.

    Like

  5. I like having other people off for the week. It increases my friend base. While weekend remain busy for me with campers checking in and out it’s fun when friends can come over to play or we can grab a bite of lunch. I’ve also been trying to go to a friends sons HS football games on Friday nights and it’s so much fun – when it isn’t cold or raining.
    Sounds like you have a wonderful weekend planned! Enjoy.

    Like

  6. You listed some pretty good ones! I work shifts so I don’t get a weekend as such, sometimes it’ll be in the week, but I do like the weeks when Richard and I are both off and we plan an outing somewhere and the dogs get all excited.
    Enjoy your company!
    -Dee

    Like

  7. Happy weekend, Dawn! I enjoyed reading about your favorite parts of your weekend. I’m not sure I have a favorite part. However THIS weekend the warm delightful Indian summer weather is the favorite part. Hands down!

    Like

  8. You seem to pick your favorite time of weekend like I pick my favorite season: whatever’s enjoyable at the time 🙂
    Those are all great things about the weekend. As we approach 8:00 on a Sunday night, I can tell you one thing that doesn’t make it to the favorite list…

    Like

  9. Like you, I just love knowing I don’t have to hear the alarm clock on weekends. Often on Fridays when it goes off, I think to myself, I don’t have to hear this tomorrow! My favorite part of the weekend often depends on what’s in store. My sister theorizes that all weekends should be 3 day weekends so that we have a day for chores (grocery shopping, cleaning etc) a day for socializing and a day for relaxing and doing nothing if we so choose!

    Like

Leave a Reply

