Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Turn it off

19 Comments

I was on the way to the grocery store this morning having forgotten a few things during my major grocery shopping expedition yesterday.  We have company coming for Sunday dinner this afternoon and those small items missed (even though they were on the list) were crucial.  I was stressed, driving along the freeway, not noticing how nice it was to drive without rush hour traffic.  Not noticing how the clouds were scudding across the early morning blue sky. Half listening to the radio.  Reciting my short list in my head.

And then it hit me.  I was stressing over having company…and the company wouldn’t care if there was organic soy milk creamer for the coffee or what type of sweet potatoes I served.  Or even if there was whipped cream for the pumpkin pie I made last night.  And the radio, full of ads for heartburn and fast food was just annoying.

So I turned off the radio, noticed the rising sun hit the tip of the trees and took a deep breath.  It’s Sunday.  It’s a day of rest.  Enjoy.  Sometimes you just have to turn it all off.

I hope you’re enjoying your day too.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

19 thoughts on “Turn it off

  1. it is the one thing we can learn from our furbabies – ‘live in the moment’ enjoy every second….and live like the song says “Live like you were dying”

    Like

  2. We call it listening to the quiet and it’s so nice. My grandmother use to say that she didn’t have a friend who couldn’t afford to eat a meal out, when she entertained she did the best she could and hoped people showed up for the company.
    Sunday dinner and good company is the whip cream on top! Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know what you mean–it’s so easy to stress over company. Yet they usually don’t care. I love that you realized the preciousness amidst the stress…

    Like

    • I’m glad too…made the rest of the day so much easier. Still I was pretty exhausted when I made it to bed last night. So I think the stress didn’t go entirely away.

      Like

  4. Good for you! I fret too much when I invite people for dinner, and you’re right, I shouldn’t. Sometimes turning it off is the only way to preserve sanity.

    Like

  5. Ahhha little bit of mindfulness and quiet goes a long way!

    Enjoy your company.

    Like

  6. Thank you, Dawn, for this reminder. I have company coming this week, four dear friends who probably don’t give a hoot what I serve or don’t serve for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. I’ve been stressing out over getting the house clean, doing the shopping, etc.

    Enjoying the moments and the company are the important things. 🙂

    Like

  7. Yes, yes, yes! Sigh! Smile!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Just stopped by to say thank you for the surprise that arrived in the mail today. Thank you!! It made me feel all celebratory about my favorite season. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Absolutely! Sometimes I get so caught up in making things perfect for company that I run myself ragged. This last time, I cleaned much less, and no one even noticed that I didn’t scrub the tiny corners 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

