Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Spend a relaxing weekend

10 Comments

On the lake.

On the lake.

Doesn’t it seem like people are stressed more than ever lately?  Frightening sights from all over the world flow into our nightly news every evening.  The economy continues to wallow and we all work harder than ever trying to get by, trying to make a difference, trying our best.

So I appreciate a lovely long weekend filled with nothing but good food and good company.  Here in the United States it’s Labor Day Weekend, when we  celebrate the labor of so many generations before and appreciate those people that worked so hard to build the country we are lucky enough to inhabit today.  It’s a time for family barbecue, camping in the woods, bonfires, boat rides, long walks, and naps.

I’m spending this holiday weekend on a lovely lake in the South where the weather has cooperated and the waters are warm, where the skies fill each afternoon with towering clouds but only a little bit of rain falls.

When I head back to work next week I’ll keep the memories of boat rides and deck sitting and bobbing in warm waters tucked safely away in the back of my mind.  And when that customer demands immediate attention or the coworker calls in sick I’ll pull those memories out and smile again.

We hope all of you are having a lovely weekend as well.  May we all relax and then start again next week with high spirits and wonderful memories.

Imported Photos 00038

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Spend a relaxing weekend

  1. Glad you’re enjoying your well deserved long, relaxing weekend! It looks beautiful.

    Like

  2. Enjoy your time there!

    Like

  3. Enjoy yourself. You deserve it.

    Like

  4. You need lots of plants of your office and on your desk – we were just reading a University of Texas study that found a 33% increase in activity, creativity and problem solving in offices that have an abundance of plants.

    Like

  5. Revel in it, Dawn. Soak it up and in and hold those memories close. Forget the “me first” world while you can and sneer at it’s stupidity when you are back to work.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful post, Dawn. I love those towering clouds. I hope your wonderful memories from this long weekend continue to build like those towering clouds. 🙂

    Like

  7. Lucky you! Here in Central Illinois, we’re awaiting thunderstorms and more rain. Just what we don’t need, Ha! It was nice reading your post and savoring your vacation, though, for a while.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Wonderful good weekend | breezes at dawn

  9. I wasn’t too far from your place on Thurs night. I was at Stillwater working on a condo. I got to see the beautiful sunset over the water.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

