Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Adventures! And more adventures!

18 Comments

Katie here.  Hey!  Did you know I got to go camping with my mama?  A lot?  I bet you saw it on Facebook.  I swear, she needs to get me my own page, she’s always letting the cat out of the bag on that thing.  And I hate cats!  All cats should stay in the bag,  I’m sure there’s a law about that somewhere.

 

Another of my favorite parks!

Another of my favorite parks!

So anyway, today I got her to take me to a  park, because daddy said she owed me cause she went to work this morning and Saturday’s are supposed to be about me!  I used to go to school and everything and now she says I’m ‘retired’ whatever that means so I don’t get to do anything!    You believe me, right?  That I’m a poor abused ignored dog?  They never feed me and I have to stay at home all the time.  You should probably send help.

Oh.  You don’t believe that?  Well it was worth a shot.

 

Soaking up a little shade on my walk today.

Soaking up a little shade on my walk today.

So today I made my mama feel guilty and she took me to a big park nearby.  We walked down the bike path and I was very good, didn’t bark at any bikes or cars or anything.  OK.  One car that was hauling a noisy trailer…but really who could resist barking at that!

 

Not worried about that bike in back of me.

Not worried about that bike in back of me.

But I bet what you really want to hear about is the camping my mama and I did a couple of weeks ago!  We went to a real park and I got to sleep in my tent for two nights!  There were lots of kids there and mostly I sat in our camp site and watched them go around and around and around the campground on their bikes and scooters.  And I did not bark at any of them!  Not even once!

Watching the kids go by.

Watching the kids go by.

The best part of our camping trip was when my friend Peep came to visit and we went on a long walk through the woods.  Actually Peep and I don’t care particularly if the other one is there, we just like that when our mamas get together we get to go on long walks!

Peep and me.

Peep and me.

Sometimes one or the other of us finds a particularly good smell and then the other one of us will go check it out, but mostly we walk our own walk.  We’re very good together because we pretty much ignore each other.   Mostly Peep went ahead and I brought up the rear.  I like to take really long sniffs of stuff you know.  Plus I have this big heavy coat to drag around.

Anyway, mama and I had a really good time.  She read a bunch of books over the weekend and I got to go on a bunch of walks.  Sometimes we walked on trails in the woods and sometimes we walked around the campground.  Lots of people said I was pretty.    And cute.  And really good.  Cause I am.

We went on lots of trails.

We went on lots of trails.

The mosquitoes weren’t as bad as our last big adventure, but there were still enough that sometimes we retreated to the tent.  That was OK, just meant another nap.  Naps are a very important part of camping.  I take my napping responsibilities very seriously.

zzzzzzz

zzzzzzz

The weekend was perfect!

Then last weekend mama and I camped out three nights in a row in the backyard!  The moon was full and she didn’t put the rain fly up and we got to sleep under it and stars.  It was wonderful!  I only barked once when that mama deer snorted at us.  It was her fault for waking us up anyway.  A dog has to to what a dog has to do.  Right?

What's out there?!

What’s out there?!

So all in all I guess my mama really does love me.  And yes my daddy loves me too, he feeds me right on schedule and sometimes early if I make my sad dog eyes at him.  And I get to go on adventures almost every weekend.  So I guess my life’s not so bad, but don’t tell them I said so, OK?  I like to keep them feeling guilty.

I get more treats that way.

Love,

Katie (The Adventuring Sheltie-girl)

 

This is our little secret!

This is our little secret!

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “Adventures! And more adventures!

  1. We bet you both had the best time and camping in your own yard sound ideal too. Me and mom rolled out the picnic blanket under MY tree today and just laid back on the grass watching the wind blow the leaves and smiling every time we saw the teeny tiny hummingbirds getting a drink of nectar. it was kind of like camping for a few hours 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cole likes your take on cats! All the other campers were right, you are cute and fuzzily adorable.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful trip! I love all of your photos, and you are the cutest thing 🙂

    Like

  4. And when a girl’s doing what a girl’s gotta do, part of it is making sure anything that might threaten a girl’s momma is warned away. Right?

    Like

  5. Yay for adventuring Katie! Your guilt trips have paid off royally. Thanks for bringing us along, you’re fun!

    Like

  6. Katie, sounds like a wonderful weekend. Thank goodness your mama lets you write to us!

    Like

  7. Katie, I’m so glad you’ve had some adventures. I was worried that they really were abusing you. I really do worry that you’re ignored – and worse – starving. But now I feel better. Glad you got lots of sniffs and naps – very important stuff!

    Like

  8. Katie, you’re such a good girl that of course, you’re loved!! Dallas has perfected the sad-dog look as well (probably the reason he could stand shedding a few pounds, ha!) Glad you’ve been having wonderful adventures — keep ’em coming!

    Like

  9. You look like you had a great time camping!

    Like

Leave a Reply

