Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Bits and pieces

28 Comments

I can’t show you everything we saw in Maine.  As I’ve said frequently, you need to go there yourself and explore.  But here’s just a few more instances of things unique and/or fun that we ran across in our travels.

Did you know that Maine is the biggest exporter of wild blueberries?  You would if you visited Blueberry World and talked to the owner for a bit.  We noticed her shop as we were heading somewhere else.

Blueberry Land!

Blueberry Land!

It’s kind of hard to miss, or to resist!  Inside were all things blueberry.  We bought a few things and talked to her for a bit.  She and her husband have a few hundred acres of wild blueberries.  They used to be university professors, but they’ve ‘retired’ to become blueberry farmers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
She’s concerned that they can’t do it forever, that help to ‘rake’ the blueberries in the field is getting harder to find.  She’s worried about foreign investors buying up all the farms.  She’s wondering if she should develop her land, turn it into a subdivision.  But she’d lose the wild blueberries, the view, her lifestyle.  She says the only way they make it is through sales direct to tourists, that the blueberries going to processing plants don’t have enough profit margin.

Buy a pie!

Buy a pie!

We wished her and her 80 year old husband good luck.

Later in our trip, as we were driving through a small coastal town we saw this:

What's going on over there?

What’s going on over there?

We learned a long time ago on our travels that if you see a crowd headed somewhere you should just fall in and see where it goes.  So we turned around, parked the car and wandered up onto the bridge as well.  Turns out the crowd was watching lobster boats race.

 

Who's going to win?

Who’s going to win?

Now I ask you, where else but Maine could you see such an event?

And all along the way we saw pretty things, interesting things that just didn’t fit into any particular blog.  But I thought you’d enjoy a few more shots.  Wouldn’t you?

We saw lots of fishing shacks.  Some looked like they were being used.

Anyone home?

Anyone home?

And some didn’t.

Long abandoned.

Long abandoned.

We saw lots and lots of boats on trailers in yards.  Some had some pretty neat names.

Resting on land.

Resting on land.

I wonder how people are making a living if their boat is in the yard.

We saw beautiful buildings too, a school sitting in a field of clover….

Summer break.

Summer break.

…and a church along a river in a tiny town.

 

Church bells rang.

Church bells rang.

And finally, these birds just made us laugh.

Linear birds.

Linear birds.

I hope you chuckle too.

Soon I hope to give you an idea of what people do while in Maine.  There’s really too much to share.

But I’ll try.

Chainsaw man.

Chainsaw man.

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

28 thoughts on “Bits and pieces

  1. Thanks for the trip to Maine. Mean it! I look so forward to coming home at night and going on a mini vacation. I’ve been forwarding your posts to my Dad, he’s hooked. You have another fan in Canada now.

    Like

  2. More wonderful pics of your adventure. Thanks Dawn!

    Like

  3. Bowsers, that sure is a large blue berry.

    Like

  4. What a cool place and fantastic time
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  5. Thanks. I love the pure colors in the schoolhouse one in particular.

    Like

  6. Love it – thank you for the bits and pieces.

    Like

  7. When you were talking about the blueberry place , I thought you were going to say that you and your husband bought it and are going to retire there. Lol

    Like

  8. Love the schoolhouse! Adorable!

    I have blueberry syrup in my fridge from Maine. Soooooo good. WIld Maine berries are the best! I hope their farm remains a family farm forever.

    Like

  9. You find so many cool things in Maine. I’ve been going there practically my entire life and I think you’ve seen more than I have! I’m always hoping for some Maine wild blueberries when I am there on vacation, but maybe I miss their season since we go in August – I never seem to find any.

    Like

  10. You’ve whetted my appetite to visit Maine, Dawn. I love blueberries — what a neat little farm, but so sad to read how difficult farming them is. Perhaps they need an advocate? Say, a blueberry lobbyist or public relations expert? Eat More Blueberries sounds like something we could all try!!

    Like

  11. We enjoyed seeing your pictures and we love blueberries. But your quote “We learned a long time ago on our travels that if you see a crowd headed somewhere you should just fall in and see where it goes” why that just sound Dangerous. Why you could get in with The Running of the Bulls or something even worse.
    Sweet William The Scot

    Like

    • LOL…we learned that trick when we were in Rome one evening and everyone was walking in one direction. Turns out the Pope was speaking from the Vatican stairs. Was amazing.

      Like

  12. Is our vacation over, loved all the info and pictures.

    Like

  13. Lobster boat races! That’s my favorite, because it’s something completely new and different for me — no lobsters in Lake Michigan, of course.

    Like

  14. The blueberry folks are inspirations. So many challenges meet the modern farmer, but I’m hoping a few independents can continue to make it. Can’t wait for a taste of a first wild blueberry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

