Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Beachy fort day

19 Comments

Thursday we visited two forts and a wonderful beach.  Want to see?

First stop, the small Fort Edgecomb with it’s octagonal turret built in 1808.

All that is left is the tower.

All that is left is the tower.

It’s a small park now, along a bit of waterway that is filled with lobster buoys.

Wonder if all those traps have lobster in them?

Wonder if all those traps have lobster in them?

Pretty spot.

Then we headed out to Fort Popham, built in 1862 right on a most glorious beach!  This fort is mostly intact and was a lot of fun to wander.

Arches within arches.

Arches within arches.

But of course I was most attracted to the beach…miles and miles of beautiful sand…

Looked at clouds from both sides now.

Looked at clouds from both sides now.

…with smaller pools of water for children to play in.

Fun in the sun.

Fun in the sun.

The water in the Atlantic was cold.  It is Maine after all.  But it was so much fun to play in the waves for a little bit.

Brrrrr!

Brrrrr!

Once you got in and remembered how to breath you could be a kid again!  And really, it’s OK not to be able to feel your legs, it’s all part of summer at the beach in New England!

Moon over Maine.

Moon over Maine.

We ended the day at a waterfront tavern having dinner with friends.

Special evening.

Special evening.

Can’t get any better than that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

19 thoughts on “Beachy fort day

  1. Love Love Love the beach photos, Dawn! I can practically smell the water and feel the sand, just looking at them.

    Like

  2. what a wonderful place and that beach was just perfect

    Like

  3. What a wonderful vacation! If only you could do this every weekend. . .

    Like

  4. What wonderful photos!!! You sure look like it was a picture perfect trip and we are all so happy you shared it with us!

    Like

  5. Beautiful! You’re braver than me. I don’t think I’ve ever made it in further than my ankles. You must be Canadian.

    Like

    • Ha ha. I’m a Michigander through and through. Lake Superior is about as cold, but no fun waves to jump in. Or if there ARE waves, you’re not in the lake!

      Like

  6. Great Photos!
    Love the Brrr picture! x

    Like

  7. You know, you could be a correspondent for Fodor’s. Fort Popham is on my list for my trip to Maine now. THanks.

    Like

  8. I am thoroughly enjoying your travels. This made me laugh: “And really, it’s OK not to be able to feel your legs…” You are so right! 🙂

    Like

  9. Very nice! What town is that beach in? Looks lovely and uncrowded. Love your caption from Joni Mitchell. My mom was a big fan and I remember hearing her music a lot as kid.

    Like

    • And of course I know about not being able to feel your legs in the water in Maine, lol! Every now and then you get lucky and a little wave of “warm” rolls in!

      Like

  10. I like the octagonal turret AND I like the picture of you and your friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

