Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Oh my Acadia!

24 Comments

Sandy Beach.  Literally.

Sandy Beach. Literally.

 

Acadia National Park is a splendid example of all that is right about America.  It’s natural beauty defies description; the ocean, the craggy coastline, the mountains, even the people visiting there, are unique and interesting and special.  We were only there one day, so we couldn’t hike all the trails or bike the carriage roads or even stop for lunch, but I saw enough to show you around.

First stop was one of my favorites – Sandy Beach.  This is a must for all of you that want to dip your toes in the cold Maine Atlantic.  Or even if you don’t.  It’s a great place to people watch or simply veg out.

It's best to keep your toes in the water.

It’s best to keep your toes in the water.

I, of course, was happiest strolling  in the waves.  There was a little stream flowing into the ocean that had the most beautiful patterns as the light hit the ripples.

Pretty.

Pretty.

It was warmer than the ocean so it made a good place for kids and adults to play.  Or talk. Or just be.

Relaxing.

Relaxing.

I could have stayed on the beach for hours but we knew we had more park to explore.  So off we went.

So much fun!

So much fun!

Next stop was Thunder Hole; a rectangular split in the granite where waves thunder and spray.  Or not, depending on the tide.  For us it was more a gurgle and thud.  But still it was cool to see.

Boom!  Or not.  Depends on the tide.

Boom! Or not. Depends on the tide.

On to Littler Hunters Beach.  At low tide it was a treasure trove of sea remnants.

Cool!

Cool!

And rocks covered in colorful stuff.

Interesting!

Interesting!

We tried to stop for lunch at Jordan’s Pond which has a restaurant, but there was nowhere to park, even in the ancillary parking lot.  I guess that’s just the way it is at National Parks in the summer season.    But that was OK, we were on to Cadillac Mountain!

A short drive up the winding road, with plenty of stops to enjoy the view and you will soon arrive at this:

On top of the world.

On top of the world.

The granite covered mountain reminded me so much of the mountain my family climbed in New Hampshire when we were kids.  Lots of huge flat rocks with bits of green low lying foliage in between.  And views that went on forever.

 

I think that's Canada over there.

I think that’s Canada over there.

It was fun to watch all the families and think back over the years.  I have to say I have a new appreciation for all the trips my folks took us on.  How they managed four of us is beyond me.  I watch and listen to families now and can see how much work it is to keep all the kids entertained and safe all day.

 

Up on a rock.

Up on a rock.

We ended our day at Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse, down at the tip of a peninsula.  It is actually inhabited with a family, so you can’t go inside and you take care not to intrude.  We hiked a bit up the coast and climbed out on some crazy beautiful rocks for this shot:

Would love to live here.  Minus the tourists.

Would love to live here. Minus the tourists.

And here’s another view from the top of the driveway:

 

Feels like home.

Feels like home.

We had a wonderful day at Acadia.  You just have to come and see for yourself.  There’s so much more.  I don’t want to spoil it for you!

 

...sigh...

…sigh…

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

24 thoughts on “Oh my Acadia!

  1. sigh – can almost smell the salt air….that is one thing I miss the most is the ocean

    Like

  2. Acadia is wonderful. I’m so glad you had a great time. I wasn’t blogging when I visited – it seems so long ago, but was only 2006, 8 years ago. It is a long time when I think of my girls being 11 and 9 years old for the trip!

    Like

  3. Everything is simply stunning! Wouldn’t it be awesome to get to live in a lighthouse? Dreamy.

    Like

  4. Aaah, I can go to work with images of Acadia in my mind. Thanks for staying up/getting up early to post it. Thunder Hole, I’ve seen it in pictures, but never knew where it was. I agree about the similarities to the Green and White Mountains. Is there a dawn Fund we can contribute to, in order to keep you on vacation longer, so we can live vicariously through your adventures?

    Like

  5. Looks like a place I’d really love, Dawn. Is all that rock part of the Canadian Shield?

    Like

  6. When husband and I went back east in 2006 we had Acadia in our plans. We were led to Stonington, however, loved it and spent the time there that was allotted for Acadia. We did get to Bar Harbor for an afternoon. So all of this to say thank you for sharing what I missed.

    Like

  7. Mommas been there and loved it
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. Oh what beauty. I could have stayed at each spot you pictured a lifetime and never gotten tired of the view.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

    Like

  9. How very lovely, Dawn. Wonderful that you are visiting Maine! My family traveled there when we were kids and really enjoyed it.

    Like

  10. Mommy climbed up a lighthouse in Atlantic City Nj. Funny how Mommy never even realized the lighthouse was there all the years she went- now she has a new appreciation fur lighthouses.

    Like

    • I found out when I got here that Michigan has the most lighthouses of any state. I’ve seen a lot, having lived in the UP, but still, apparently there are a lot more to go find! Maine comes in second. Who knew!

      Like

  11. Okay, here’s the geologic story, with no mention of the Canadian Shield:

    http://www.nps.gov/acad/planyourvisit/upload/Written2005Final.pdf

    Like

    • Thank you PJ! Today we were at a lighthouse and there was this bed of rock that looked like it had flowed…and your article answers that question! I’ll show photos of that lighthouse in a future blog.

      Like

  12. You are making me long to go back. I clambered around to get a shot of that lighthouse, too. I think you hit most of the highlights of Acadia. Beautiful images, and I love your thoughts on traveling as a family. I’m the oldest of five children, and I often wonder how my parents managed it when we traveled.

    Like

Leave a Reply

