Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It was a Maine weekend

15 Comments

I’ve been in a motel with no internet for the past two nights.  But of course we haven’t spent much time in the hotel, we’ve been out exploring, so there’s a lot to show you.  I’ll try to squish Saturday and Sunday into this post.  We spent those two days driving through small fishing communities and along the rocky coast.  But first, on Saturday we went out to the tip off Acadia National Park’s Schoodic Peninsula to see the wave action from Hurricane Arthur.  Though by the time we got out there the hurricane was more a scattered storm, there were still some big waves. (Click on the photos to make them larger, you’ll see lots more detail!)

Ooooohh, aaahhhhh!

Ooooohh, aaahhhhh!

The wind was fierce but there were lots of people out there; you could hear they oooh and ahhh and squeal whenever a particularly big wave splashed high.

After that we ventured inland and wandered through many towns where lobster traps were piled high in yards and on wharfs.  It seemed that many homes had a big boat in drydock in the yard and piles and piles of traps nearby.  I wondered why the boat wasn’t in the water, and how people were making a living.

 

Piles of lobster traps.

Piles of lobster traps.

We also walked along a community wharf used by locals where the piles of lobster traps made a colorful collage.  And where we ran into this guy:

Lobsterman.  Kind of Paul Bunyan in a rain slicker.

Lobsterman. Kind of Paul Bunyan in a rain slicker.

Of course we also found a lighthouse too.  This one was on Prospect Harbor, just across the way from Mr. Lobsterman.

Classic.

Classic.

But mostly on Saturday we were driving through communities looking for interesting things to photograph.  There were so many I wish I could should you more, but here’s one quintessential Maine shot:

 

Ready to go.

Ready to go.

Sunday found us on the road again, in the search for more lighthouses.  We found this beauty in Luboc.  It’s the West Quoddy Head Light Station.

Pretty!

Pretty!

It sits high on a rocky bluff.  We hiked a ways up the coast on the advice of an employee and saw wonderful views of the ocean and the waves crashing on the rocks below.

Stunning!

Stunning!

Much of our path was muddy because they’ve had so much rain, but it was worth it to climb so high.  We ended up near the top of that mountain you see in the photo above, way out at the end, at a place called Green Point.  Where we saw views like this:

Worth the climb.

Worth the climb.

 

On the way back we climbed down a stair to the beach and I got to get my feet wet in the Atlantic!

ohhhh...ahhhh!

ohhhh…ahhhh!

Yes.  It was cold!

It was getting late, so we drove through a few more fishing communities and then headed back to the hotel.

From days gone by.

From days gone by.

 

We didn’t even have time to stop and see what ship was in the harbor, but it sure was huge!

Big ship, big fisherman!

Big ship, big fisherman!

To see everything you’re just going to have come on over to Maine yourself  There’s lots of houses for sale, or if you just want to rent for awhile, this place is open:

For rent.

For rent.

Today we were at Acadia.  That deserves it’s own post.  I’ll try to get it together soon.

 

Window on the sea.

Window on the sea.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “It was a Maine weekend

  1. I too remember running into the Atlantic in Maine only to run back out. It was so cold it made my ankles ache. It was Summer and blur lipped kids were swimming . My years in Alabama have made me soft. I often check out Maine listings on realtor.com. So cheap, but few jobs. I love the comment about the upcoming post on Acadia. Don’t forget, you’re on vacation, don’t stress about your reading public’s travel requests!

    Like

  2. Great pictures Dawn! I love the lighthouses, keep them coming. Looking forward to Acadia as it is on my list of places to visit. Thanks for sharing your trip with us.

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you are having better weather now! Maine really is at its finest in the sunshine.

    Jeff and I are always checking craigslist for camps to buy in Maine….someday we will spend our entire summer (and late spring and early fall)there. There’s no place we’d rather be.

    Can’t wait to see your adventure in Acadia!

    Like

  4. There sure are a lot of giants in Maine… lobsterman, big fisherman by the ship.

    Like

  5. Oh my goodness—my kind of trip with tons of lighthouses and perfect things to photograph. I love the lobster trap one! Great photos and what looks like a great trip. I was in Maine when I was growing up but Chris and I need to make this trip!

    Like

  6. what a wonderful place to visit….I heard that there is an over abundance of lobster this year and that the prices are down – maybe that is why some of the boats weren’t out. Maine is on my list of places to visit one day.

    Like

    • It sure is beautiful here, haven’t heard much about the price of lobster. I’ve only tried it once so far, in a lobster roll. We will have a lobster dinner Saturday with friends.

      Like

  7. Love the quintessential Maine photo.

    Like

  8. I hope you’re going to indulge in some lobster. 🙂

    Like

  9. Beautiful photos, Dawn. I loved Maine and Acadia when I was there, and would love to go back someday. In the meantime, I can visit through your blog. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

