Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The start of something Maine

22 Comments

Flying at sunset.

Flying at sunset.

After flying through and over a line of heavy storms, heralding Hurricane Arthur,  we landed at the Portland airport last night.   And this morning we visited the Portland Head Lighthouse. (Click on any photo to see more detail.)

 

Portland Head Lighthouse before the storm.

Portland Head Lighthouse before the storm.

We got there early in the morning before the rain started.  But there was misty fog out in the harbor.

Foggy morning.

Foggy morning.

Also located on the grounds of  Fort Williams, aside from the beautiful lighthouse, was the remains of the Goddard mansion, built in 1858 by Mr. Goddard who made his money in logging,  it was purchased by the Army and housed married officers in 1896.

 

Mansion memories.

Mansion memories.

It must have been an amazing house in its day.

Days gone by.

Days gone by.

We also spent a lot of time just looking out at the ocean…

 

Weekend sail.

Weekend sail.

…as we drover up the coast and stopped for lunch at the Lobster Shack.

We were hungry.

We were hungry.

 

Then we headed to Bar Harbor to watch the 4th of July fireworks.  We sat for almost two hours in heavier and heavier rain, along with a few thousand of our closest (and wettest) friends.  Just when we thought we couldn’t sit in the increasingly cold and heavy rain the fireworks started.  They were amazing, it was worth the wait.  There’s something about being with so many people, faces raised to the sky, drops of rain falling on our cheeks, to make you appreciate the fact we live where we do.  The fireworks seemed close enough to touch.   The children in the crowd clapped and cheered.  So did many adults.  We forgot we were soaked to the skin.

Day one in Maine has been magic.

 

Happy Birthday America!

Happy Birthday America!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “The start of something Maine

  1. How wonderful! It sounds like something very special indeed. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sounds like you managed to have a great time even though the rain tried to keep you inside. I’ve been as far north as Portland in Maine and love visiting the Portland Head Lighthouse. I look forward to more pictures from your trip. Enjoy!

    Like

    • We don’t know how today will pan out, it’s raining even more..but hopefully by tomorrow the sun will be back. Meanwhile I have plenty of photos from yesterday to post later today!

      Like

  3. what an awesome adventure – one of the places on my list to see is maine…..it looks so wonderful

    Like

  4. Can’t wait to hear more….make sure to look for fairy houses! They are out there. Maine is magical.

    Like

  5. You are in my favorite state! I’m sooooo envious, but glad to going along with you on your trip. Can I request that you go to Acadia and report back?

    Like

  6. We spent some time in Maine on our trip back east several years ago. The time we had wasn’t long enough – I would love to return.

    Like

  7. Never been to Maine, but it sounds beautiful! (Also sounds as if one princess might have been left behind?! Probably a special treat upon your return would be in order!)

    Like

  8. FUN. I love the lighthouse pictures. I love beautiful fireworks on July 4th. Glad you soaked in the beauty and weren’t rained out.

    Like

  9. Oh my goodness you are in Maine! I love Maine, as I think I’ve said a time or two on my blog, lol. Your photos from Portland are very familiar looking. I’ve spent lots of time visiting that spot and the fort as well. Bar Harbor is absolutely amazing. I hope you are having a wonderful time visiting Acadia National Park. Make sure you go to the Jordan Pond House at some point and have popovers!!!

    Like

    • We were at Acadia today! (Monday)..we tried to stop at the Jordan Pond House…but there was nowhere to park so we ended up eating in Southwest Harbor on our way to Bass Harbor Head lighthouse.

      Like

  10. You certainly make it feel magical, Dawn. Love the appreciation you shared – warms my tourist-jaded heart 🙂
    I must get to that lighthouse one day. It is one of the most beautiful ones I’ve seen! Oh – and a lobster roll. Your FB photo of that sent my tummy rumbling 😉

    Like

  11. We had a lobster roll on our first day here, Friday. It was OK. Not my favorite thing..maybe that was because of where we got it..just a hole in the wall diner.

    Like

Leave a Reply

