Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

World Cup memories

5 Comments

I can’t watch the World Cup without thinking of a warm evening in Tuscany.  In July of 2006 we were in Italy and for three nights stayed at a beautiful old villa.  Since we were the youngest couple in the group we were assigned a room on the third floor.  The one with the tower and the great view overlooking the valley filled with olive groves below.

 

Italian villa

Italian villa

One evening, after a day spent in historic Sienna we climbed the tower stairs with a bottle of wine and a bag of ripe sweet cherries to watch dusk overtake the valley.  We listened to the cries of joy floating up from the houses below each time Italy scored and watched the valley turn rosy then dark.

What wonderful memories.   Today as the USA plays in the World Cup I might watch some of the game.

But my heart will be in Tuscany.

sigh....

sigh….

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

5 thoughts on “World Cup memories

  1. Fantastic memories!

    Like

  2. What a memory. No wonder you will be thinking about that. 🙂 Wonderful.

    Like

  3. Tuscany is one of those bucket list places for me. Must have been a wonderful experience.

    Like

  4. I’m part Italian, but I’ve never been to Italy. May I say I’m a bit pea-green that you have?! It’s definitely on my bucket list, and your beautiful memories only confirm that. (Guess Katie missed out on that trip though, huh??)

    Like

  5. What a wonderful memory and Tuscany is so beautiful! Isn’t it great to be able to remember back….

    Like

Leave a Reply

