Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Active retirement

22 Comments

A few weeks ago, while driving north for the Great Camping Adventure with Katie, I noticed a car.  We passed each other a few times.  It was the same make and model and even color as my car.  But that’s not what made me notice it.  What was special about the car was this:

Adventure mobile

Adventure mobile

Perched on the top were two kayaks, on the back hung two bicycles.  It seemed to epitomize the kind of retirement I hope my husband and I have.  The kind where you explore and enjoy and especially stay active.

I glanced at the couple in the car once when they passed me.  Seemed to be people pretty much like myself.  I wished them well and forgot about them.  Until I pulled into a fast food drive through line and saw the car parked next door at another fast food restaurant.  So once I got my taco I swung over there, parked, walked over and snapped the picture.  Turning I realized the couple was sitting at an outdoor table looking alarmed.

So I walked over to them, smiling, and told them I wanted to be them when I grew up.  Old enough to be retired, young enough to enjoy it and off on adventures every weekend with your life partner.    She smiled, pointed at her companion and said “Him?  We just met a few months ago!”    Then we all had a good laugh.

But in my heart I still hope I get to have that kind of retirement.  The kind with two kayaks on the roof, two bikes on the back, two voices laughing in the front seats.

Happy trails everyone.

Follow the road.

Follow the road.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “Active retirement

  1. Sounds like a good plan! Let me know when you’re ready and I’ll overwhelm you with kayaking and biking info on Northern Minnesota!

    Like

  2. Don’t wait too long. Get out there as soon as you can.

    Like

  3. that sounds like too much activity to me for retirement…..I would just be happy to be able to walk everywhere…all over the world – kut walking 🙂 I guess some people like to move fast in the world and others like to watch the world move fast by them……. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hold on to that dream Dawn, it will help get you through many of those full-moon-end-of-the-month days in your profession.

    Like

  5. Sounds good to me, too, Dawn. Just don’t know if retirement is in the cards for me at all. In case it isn’t, we grab an evening whenever we can and call it a vacation.

    Like

  6. Ohhh retirement….sigh….seems like such a dream. Hoping to make it there earlier than most. For now, I settle for summer vacation.

    Like

  7. That car looks like it got everything but a kitchen sink. Well, maybe it got that too. Kudos to them for being prepared for whatever fun activity they decide to do next.

    Like

  8. I hope you get the retirement you want and deserve

    Like

  9. I like that plan, although I’m still working up the nerve to learn to kayak. I suspect it will happen sometime this summer. Love the image you present with both words and picture. 🙂

    Like

  10. two kayaks on the roof, two bikes on the back, two voices laughing and a Katie!

    Like

  11. Your time will come.

    We’re starting that journey on Saturday. My husband’s last day of work is Friday, and Saturday we’re throwing the canoe on top of the truck, hitching up the travel trailer and heading to the UP for a couple weeks. In August we’re headed west with no particular destination in mind except to end up in Yellowstone in early September, and no deadline to get back. No more quick two week vacations and gotta get back mentality.

    Like

  12. Some of the people I work most closely with retired in the last year, and they all seem to be having so much fun. My husband and I now joke about how ready we are for retirement (even though we both still have at least 25-30 years to go), but it does give us that extra push to save more for the future. I hope we go on bike/kayak adventures, too.

    Like

  13. Loved this story!
    Crossing my fingers for your for fall of 2015! In the meantime, you’ve got parks and weekends for shorter adventures 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

