Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Safety update. And turtles

12 Comments

Who you lookin at?

Who you lookin at?

Today was a busy day as volunteers, including some of you, made phone calls to Senators in Washington, asking them to consider safety before profits  —  to strike down the Collins Amendment that would gut the Hours of Service Rule just instituted last summer, and to watch out for amendments that would prohibit any attempt at raising trucking company’s  minimum liability insurance requirements.  And as the day went on some Senators stood up and voiced concern over trucking regulations.  In particular there is now another amendment, the Booker-Menendez Amendment  (both are Democratic Senators out of New Jersey) that would strike down  the dangerous part of the Collins amendment; the part that would cause the hours truckers are allowed to work to increase back to 82 a week.  The Booker-Menedez  Amendment would allow a study of the ‘unintended effects of two consecutive nights off’ for drivers who work 70 hours or more a week but would not make changes in the rule until after that study was complete.  Seems like a good compromise to me.    I called my Senators again late this afternoon and asked them to cosponsor that amendment.  We’ll see.

I’ll keep you posted.  I truly appreciate all your support, in all its different manifestations, from calls to writing, to hugs, to concern.  It’s all important.  And the more you talk about it with friends the better chance we have of making our politicians understand the importance of not letting profits compromise safety.

Scoping the lay of the land.

Scoping the lay of the land.

Meanwhile.  I came home to find a Blanding Turtle (no I didn’t know the name, but a friend on Facebook did!) in my driveway.  You know those things can move pretty fast when they want to.  By the time I got inside and hooked the dog up for a walk to the mailbox it was nowhere to be seen.    But I knew where it was, under some shrubs along the edge of the driveway.  Because Katie wanted to go over there really bad.  But I wouldn’t let her and we high tailed it back inside.  Almost instantly I noticed it had moved up to the garage and was looking around.  I think she’s trying to decide where to lay eggs.  I watched and took pictures through a tiny bit of beveled glass in the front door.

She walked all the way up the driveway, along the garage door, then back past the front porch and under the car.  Who knows where she went after that, but there’s a lot of garden for her to choose from.  Katie and I went out on the deck to watch and listen to the birds.  I fell asleep until the frogs began to sing.  It would be a good night to camp out but sheer exhaustion precludes me from lugging the tent out and setting it up.  Plus tomorrow is another day.

I hope Capital Hill sees fit to make the right decisions tomorrow.  I hope they aren’t like my wandering turtle, just exploring and looking and ending up headed right back where they came from.  Or hiding under a metaphoric car.

Wandering off to look for better places.

Wandering off to look for better places.

I’ll let you know.  For tonight I’m pulling my head into my shell and getting some shuteye.

Katie says night too.

But Mama, I don't want to go to bed yet!

But Mama, I don’t want to go to bed yet!

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Safety update. And turtles

  1. It’s been a mentally exhausting week for you. I hope you hear some positive news today, and that concrete action is taken.

    Oh somedays, it would be nice to be a turtle and be able to hide in my shell!

    Like

  2. Great parallels drawn with the turtle.
    Let’s hope for the best today.
    Hope the turtle leaves her eggs near your house, so you can have a tribe of turtles next year!

    Like

    • We found the Friday crash on 280. Will be sending that in. Truck Safety sends those articles to the appropriate Senators to point out what is happening in their district. Plus we try to find the injured and/or family members of the dead to offer support if they want it.

      Like

  3. We will keep our fingers crossed
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  4. I’ve never heard of a blanding turtle. Learned something today! Hope that there has been some positive news. Truly hope.

    Like

  5. Fingers crossed on safety. And for the turtle choosing a good place for her nest. I saw a turtle get crushed yesterday while we were out walking Petey 😦 Turns out you’re not always safe if you tuck into your shell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

