Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress photo challenge: Split-second story

18 Comments

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We were on Belle Isle, in the Detroit River, enjoying the day and standing out on a fishing pier.  I was talking about the years I used to live on the Houghton Canal way up in the Upper Peninsula where I could watch freighters pass from my apartment window.

We turned to go back to the car and there it was, almost silently gliding through the cool blue waters.

Magical.

 

Check out these split-second day photos here, here, here, and here.  Or go to this link and browse among the 300+ photos for yourself.  Don’t miss this one!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “WordPress photo challenge: Split-second story

  1. Lovely shot and memory. Thanks for the ping back and thanks for visiting QH.

    Like

  2. It sure looks beautiful
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  3. Love the sun sparkling on the water, too!

    Like

  4. Right on time!

    Like

  5. I still scratch my head over how something so big and heavy can float – or planes being so big and heavy can fly – I know all the aero dynamics and science stuff but if you throw a brick in the water or air – it will neither float or fly 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  6. Glad you got to see it, Dawn! Magic… My mom just told me a freighter story yesterday. They were sitting at a restaurant in Port Huron when a big ship went by. Suddenly, the ship started going backwards! And then sideways. It had passengers on board. I wondered if they were frightened. Suddenly, the ship regained control and went forwards.

    Like

  7. Maybe the captain was just getting straight in the channel?

    Like

  8. Love the serendipity! And I really do love seeing these ginormous boats out plying the waters.

    Like

  9. Pawsome. Can you wish me up some extra doggie treats?

    Sherman

    PAW SSSS Dad loved the picture of the frieghter

    Like

Leave a Reply

