Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Spring cleaning

27 Comments

December memories

December memories

Ha!  I bet you thought I was going to entertain you with stories from the backs of closets or under beds.  And how would that relate to the frigid photo above?  Are you confused?

Well so is our yard this spring.  Confused.  After the brutal winter we are managing to get through a sad and wet spring.  We didn’t get any forsythia blooms, no redbud blossoms, the Japanese maple is dead, many of our birch were irretrievably bent during December’s ice storm.

So this spring instead of planting beautiful young flowers, patting soil gently around their tender roots, our tools look like this:

Cleanup tools

Cleanup tools

And the results are just as harsh.

Makes me cry

Makes me cry

It’s a sad spring, but some things are blooming, and Katie of course tries to brighten our day.  So I guess we will accept what is and move forward with what’s left of our landscape.  Let’s hope next winter isn’t as harsh.  I don’t think the plants that survived this last one could make it through a second.

Hey Mama!  This one made it!

Hey Mama! This one made it!

I don’t think I could either.

brrrrrrrrr

brrrrrrrrr

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

27 thoughts on “Spring cleaning

  1. Taking down trees is just the saddest thing. Next winter simply has to be better than the last. My forsythias didn’t bloom either, but other peoples’ did. Maybe next spring…..

    Like

  2. Our forsythias were pathetic. Our clematis were both killed, as was the hibiscus. Sad, sad sad!
    Our sassafras tree was damaged to the point it needs to be removed. And that’s the tree that had Prometheus moths a few years ago. It was so cool to have a flock of silkworm moths!

    Like

  3. Wevelots quite a few plants too – my big gardenia is struggling to regrow and my sweet olive tress is sown to a third of the size it was.

    Like

  4. My forsythia has never done well but this year it’s so nothing I think it has to come out. And we only had a couple of weeks of unusually cold weather. At least you have that beautiful peony! And, of course, Katie.

    Like

  5. I totally agree—it was a rough winter. Let’s hope we have a lovely summer.

    Like

  6. That is one gigantic peony. I don’t envy the winters you have, but I’m definitely coveting your peonies!

    Like

    • It’s a tree peony, has hard bark, doesn’t die back in the winter..different blooms, and blooms earlier than the traditional peony. The traditional ones are in bud now..soon we will have blooms I hope!

      Like

  7. Katie brightens it all up with that smile! So sad when mother nature wreaks havoc on itself! Hope the summer blooms pretty!

    Like

  8. You are so right about this winter – so very harsh, and many plants around here have had a difficult time too. The worst for me were my lilac trees. Lots of dead branches and hardly any gloriously fragrant blooms. I’m starting to wonder about my butterfly bushes too. Their growth seems far behind normal this spring. Your peonies are ahead of mine – still waiting for blooms here!

    Like

    • Our butterfly bush is coming up from the roots but is only about 1 inch high so far. It was brutal this past winter, so cold, so much snow. But the stuff under the snow survived. The stuff out in the air just died.

      Like

  9. I can’t even get started on little lost trees. Too sad. Need to focus on the plants that made it through, as we did — even if barely!

    Like

  10. Dawn, I totally empathize. We lost one crepe myrtle, one hydrangea, and the bulk of our show-roses. Our holly doesn’t look too happy, either. It’s amazing how harsh nature was this winter. And, like you, we’ve had a mostly nasty spring — wet, dreary, yuck — and now, temps are soaring into the upper 80s with storms predicted for much of the week. Sigh. We take what we get, but we don’t have to be happy about it, ha!

    Like

  11. There is one good thing about having a clear out of your garden, NEW STUFF 🙂
    Can’t get any more squeezed into ours, Summer and roses at the moment. Not looking forward to Winter one bit, a bit of Summer sun wouldn’t be a bad thing either. Enjoy your garden. Luv’s x

    Like

  12. It was a harsh winter. I’m grateful that we did not suffer an ice storm. Almost everything made it through the cold but the ice would have been a whole different story. Katie is blooming tho!

    Like

  13. Thank goodness winter is over. (We hope.) Cleanup from these brutal winters can be something else. I like what you said up there about needing two extra months of summer. That sounds just about right.

    Like

  14. It sure was a tough winter. Thankfully, we didn’t suffer the ice you guys did 😦
    Our redbud bloomed, but only on the upper branches. Everything seems to be leafing out, though. As my mom likes to think: at least this gives you the opportunity to try some new plants!

    Like

  15. I number of us in my southeast Michigan neighborhood lost plants over this last winter. This has not happened in the 9 years I’ve been here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

