Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Unrelated musings

15 Comments

Do you see the mama?

Do you see the mama?

It’s been a long and stressful week.   I think, of my regular readers, only Carol will truly understand.  She has successfully retired from my industry and people outside it don’t grasp the level of stress during our busy season.  Especially the busy season in conjunction with the end of a month.

This is a really really big nursery.

This is a really really big nursery.

I’m behind on things I wanted to show you from my visit to my favorite park almost two weeks ago.   So how about I just intersperse park photos among the random musings that have been rolling around in my head trying to avoid the stress headache lurking there.  Click on any photo to make it bigger and see more details.

Waiting for the shot.

Waiting for the shot.

“Reaching out.”   I suppose this blog is my way of reaching out to you.  But I’d like to think it’s not because I really detest that saying.  I don’t know when people started using it, but it’s everywhere now.  Do people use it because it’s more hip  than saying calling…or emailing?   “I’m reaching out to you in the hopes that you will…”    When I read that in an email, or hear it on the phone I immediately put my defenses up.  Because no one ever reaches out to me unless they want something.   Can’t they just say what they’re really doing…they’re emailing me.  They’re calling me.  They want something.  It doesn’t sound any more friendly or less threatening because they were reaching out.  Makes.  Me.  Nuts.

 

He was curious about me.

He was curious about me.

And while we’re on the topic of phrases what’s with “drilling down?”   What exactly does that mean?  That we’re going to get more detailed, maybe explore something further.  I think.  Why can’t we just say that?  It doesn’t make me as nuts as “reaching out” but still who is fooling who?  Does anyone really know what we’re “drilling down’ to?  And how will we know when we get there?  Exactly.

 

Does anyone know what this bird is?

Does anyone know what this bird is?

A running friend, a year younger then me, is retiring in two weeks.  She’s doing it for all the right reasons, her job is stressful, too much travel, and her parents who live near are getting older and need more assistance.  I’m happy for her.   She says she might have to reenter the work force sometime in the future but I sincerely hope she doesn’t have to do that, I hope she gets to enjoy a long happy time with her folks and that they thrive under her attention.

Hungry!

Hungry!

Katie and I are going camping at a real campground far to the north of us in a couple of weeks.  It’s been cold here…really cold for this time of year.  I’m starting to worry about sleeping in a tent for two nights further north.  How many blankets can I pack, how many layers of clothes can I sleep in.   And last time I tried to camp when it was this cold Katie wouldn’t settle down.  I’ve seen doggie sleeping bags but I’m pretty sure she’s not going to sleep in one.   I think I need a backup plan.   I should have booked a weekend in August!

Mr. Rose Breasted.

Mr. Rose Breasted.

So that has pretty much emptied my mind.  I hope you could follow.  Or not.  Totally up to you.  Me?  I’m going to try to get through another day in the business at the end of the month.

 

Taking a walk.

Taking a walk.

The weekend can’t come soon enough.

See you later!

See you later!

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “Unrelated musings

  1. That bird looks like an oriole, but I’ll not swear to it. I can sooo relate to what you’re saying and can offer only one small consolation – at least it’s not the end of the month AND a full moon. Hang in there, your time to retire will come. And we’ll hope it warms up before your camping trip.

    Like

  2. The weekend is almost here! Hang on!!!! Hang on tight!!!!

    Like

  3. One more day and you’re there!
    I’ve never heard of anyone “reaching out” to me in an email. considering I don’t have an office job, that’s not surprising. But, it does seem creepy to me too. you make it sound so much better.

    Like

  4. I do believe ‘drilling down’ means getting to the core of the matter. I do agree – we have lost the art of real explaining – everything is shortened to cliches that many just don’t understand

    Like

  5. I love ALL these photos! Such peaceful images.

    I hate the phrase ‘best practice’. It’s used all the time in the world o’ teaching. Who gets to decide what ‘best’ is? Probably someone who never taught in their life, I’m sure.

    I hope it starts warming up for you and Katie. I know we go from winter right into summer here, and it seems to happen overnight.

    Enjoy your long weekend, you deserve it!

    Like

  6. All your photos are amazing. There is nothing like the beauty of nature. Sorry to hear it’s been so stressful, for me, watching the birds can take me to a more serene place. I hope that helps you to. I hate the “reaching out” phrase- to me it signals “I need something, I am going to ask a favor” not just a friendly hello how’s it going. Hope you have an enjoyable weekend!

    Like

  7. typo on the too!! I do know the difference!! 😀

    Like

  8. Your bird photos are lovely, Dawn. Here’s wishing you (in a comment, on your blog, not reaching out, just typing words!) a stress-free, enjoyable holiday weekend!

    Like

  9. “Reaching out” doesn’t bother me in a personal sense, because I feel like people use that when they mean they need to make some kind of emotional connection. In business, I feel like it’s over-stepping. As for “drilling down,” we are guilty of that where I work, and I’ll stand by it. However, we use it in the context of accessing data that is a few menu levels deep, where you start out with a big category and then “drill down” getting more and more specific until you find the piece you’re looking for.
    I don’t envy your end-of-month rush. It’s almost EOB, and you’ll have a long weekend at your fingertips before you know it. Oh, and the weather up here is looking mighty fine for some camping in the next 10 days. Hope it holds out for your trip!

    Like

  10. Pretty photos among your rants, Dawn. I know every organization has its own jargon — sadly, much of it is over-used. As for your camping trip, surely it will be warmer by then, huh??

    Like

  11. That’s a yellow warbler. Pretty bird with a pretty song. Drill down and chill out while you’re camping. Bring warm socks. 😉

    Like

  12. I love your photos here. I hope you are unwinding now that the weekend has come. Its been a stressful week for me too, but for different reasons. May the long weekend leave us all rejuvenated!
    I think you should re-book your camping trip – I’m sure Miss Katie would understand.

    Like

  13. I started chuckling about the “reaching out” discussion and chuckled all the way through the post. How funny~~never thought of it that way. Just reaching out to you this morning, ha ha, Kathy. P.S. Enjoy your weekend! Relax…

    Like

Leave a Reply

