Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The also rans for photo challenge: On the move photos

12 Comments

Moving on out.

Moving on out.

This week’s photo challenge was ‘on the move’ and you all saw my pick from my weekend mini adventure to one of my favorite parks.  I like that photo from a composition and color standpoint, but there was a lot of other ‘moving’ going on that Mother’s Day morning at the park.  So I’ll show you a few of the photos that didn’t make the cut.  Just for fun. Click on any of the photos to see them larger and with more detail.

It’s not that I don’t like these.  Some of them make me smile, and some seem sort of artistic.  And it’s not that these disappointed me or weren’t what I was looking for.  In fact most of them are exactly what I was looking for when I headed out to the park that morning.  It’s just that when I saw the one I used I just had that gut ‘this is the one’ feeling.  Though these make me smile they weren’t  the one.  You know?

You never really know when you head out to find a photograph how things will turn out.  Sometimes when you have something specific in mind you discover a surprise that works even better.  And sometimes you have no idea until you come home and look at everything just exactly what you found.  That’s what makes it all so fun…the adventure, the chase for the perfect image, the surprise when something unexpected jumps out at you, and the satisfaction when you capture more than you hoped you’d find.

But I’m rambling.

When I went to the park I expected to see a lot of runners, and walkers and people on bikes and maybe even skates.  And I was not disappointed.

Daughter daddy day.

Daughter daddy day.

There was all of that and more.  Individuals working out, focused on their heart rates and stride lengths, foot turns.

It was a really big hill.

It was a really big hill.

And friends talking nonstop as they walked or ran together.

Catching up on events

Catching up on events

People like me meandering around with cameras.

Really big camera.

Really big camera.

Or just meandering.

It’s a wonderful park full of people finding their space, breathing deeply, living fully.

Riding together.

Riding together.

It’s one of my most favorite places in the world.  Soon I’ll show you some of the nature I found there.  But for now, enjoy one more shot of someone on the move.

Because I liked the bottom of her shoes.

Orange.

Orange.

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “The also rans for photo challenge: On the move photos

  1. Perfect on the move photos
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  2. Orange soles? Cool. And practical! Thanks for sharing “the rest of the pictures.”

    Like

  3. The footwear in a couple of these wonderful photos adds more color to the beautiful spring greens.

    Like

  4. Sunday was the perfect day for everybody to get out moving! Love how everyone found their own special way to enjoy the day.

    Like

  5. A great little slice of humanity there. I like how you chose it amongst nature, the trees and other sedate, non moving living things.

    Like

  6. Seeing people exercising in a park always, always, always makes me want to join them! I would LOVE to play in this park. You can Katie would be a great bonus 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

