Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It’s been a busy week

6 Comments

Have you ever had so much to talk about that you can’t find the beginning?  Can’t sort out your thoughts, put down a linear storyline?  That’s me right now.  I can’t tell if I’m so tired I can’t think straight or if there’s just so much jumbled up in my brain that it’s tangled in on itself and is stuck there.

The last blog post was a week ago and it’s not as if I haven’t done anything since.  In fact I traveled to North Carolina for a long weekend to visit family.  A family that was celebrating a wedding.

Newlyweds

Newlyweds

It was a big day for everyone, but especially for the special couple who got married at the county courthouse on a sunny, windy Friday afternoon.

I wish them a long and happy marriage filled with joy and adventure, self reflection and growth.  I know that marriage isn’t always joyful but I think if the partners always keep the other person’s happiness in mind it’s easier.

Heading to the courthouse.

Heading to the courthouse.

So my advice is to concentrate on each other.  At this time in your lives you can afford to slow down and take the time to learn about each other, to explore the world with each other and see how differently  it looks from another person’s eyes.

Mostly just enjoy the company, the feeling that someone has your back, that someone is sharing life’s experiences with you.  That’s what it’s all about.

Go forth and love.

Celebrate

Celebrate

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

6 thoughts on “It’s been a busy week

  1. It is funny – I was one of those that NEVER thought I would get married. I was just happy alone, I got to do what I wanted, go places I wanted, learn what I wanted. And then I met Dave and I realized I could till be the same but also have someone to share it with too. I often think getting married later in life is so much easier….you know what you want but equally know what you don’t want but you also have so much better negotiating skills that allow you to work out compromises so much easily.

    Like

  2. Yeah, you got a break from Michigan’s cold for a week! Hope you enjoyed your mini-vacation. Congrats to the newlyweds — may their lives together be joyful and their marriage enduring; may they grow individually and together; may they be a blessing for those they touch!

    Like

  3. I do know what that’s like. Sometimes it’s difficult to know where to begin. I love your advice. It’s perfect. 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh, I do love a wedding!

    Wishing many years of happiness to them!

    Like

  5. I know just how you’re feeling. A good friend commented recently that a paucity of ideas and an abundance can be equally overwhelming. She’s right.
    As for your advice, I think you’ve written wise words. I’d add to always put your relationship first. If it’s harmful to the relationship, it’s probably not worth it. Go forth and love 🙂

    Like

  6. I do know that feeling that you are talking about blogging-wise, Dawn. Happens to me all the time. This is a sweet post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

