Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Greening of the park

19 Comments

Katie here!  Did you have a good weekend?  A wonderful Easter?  A beautiful Passover?  Mama says she’s glad she didn’t invite anyone to dinner because she just slept and slept and slept all morning!  I could hardly make her get off the sofa until later in the afternoon when my Dad went outside and started up the lawn mower.  Well.  That got me barking and Mama decided we should go to the park.  Wonder how that’s all related.

So anyway.

Guess what?  The burned up park is already green and it’s only been a week!  We had the park almost all to ourselves…guess everyone else was home eating Easter dinner.

Mama says here’s a reason we don’t go down the hill and explore the train track:

Hey Mama!  What's THAT?

Hey Mama! What’s THAT?

I didn’t like it one bit when that train went by.  I barked and barked at it until it ran away.  Got to protect my Mama that’s for sure.  I’m good like that.

Get out of here train!

Get out of here train!

The rest of our walk around the park was pretty uneventful.  My Mama made me stand on this stupid log like she does every year.  But since I get cheese I don’t mind.

I'll pose for cheese.

I’ll pose for cheese.

We practiced recall too, once.  I got cheese again…and then somehow my Mama lost my treats.  So that was that.

Cheese Mama?

Cheese Mama?

No more working for me!  I did spend some quality time in the shade under a picnic table getting a drink while my Mama watched the pond.  That was nice.

Chillin in the shade

Chillin in the shade

Then we went home and I took another nap.

Yep it was another great day!

zzzzzzz...

zzzzzzz…

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

19 thoughts on “Greening of the park

  1. Isn’t it wonderful to have park weather? I’m so glad both you and your mama had a day to rest and then play.

    Like

  2. Oh yes, I love that header photo.

    Like

  3. Looks like a perfect Katie day! Be careful about the lost cheese thing Katie….I’ve tried telling Oreo that I ‘lost’ his cheese, but really I got hungry myself and ate it! Somehow, he always knows….

    Like

  4. Green grass appearing in the orchard rows, too, between the trees. No dogs allowed in the orchard, though. Strict new rules.

    Katie, you are such a princess! My tomboy Sarah’s grooming never lasts as long as yours.

    Like

  5. that is a wonderful photo of Katie in the header….sounds like she had a great time at the park

    Like

  6. Katie, you are just too cute — and I love the way the wind blows your furs around! Dallas was treated to an Easter Egg hunt (plastic eggs filled with his special treats) — he found them ALL!! He also got a lovely walkie in perfect Springtime weather.

    Like

  7. Sounds like you and mom had a perfect day
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. Even though the pasture still has snow piled in it, I’ve noticed that it’s greened up remarkably in the past few days. Like your park, I think spring is really coming to this part of the world 🙂 Petey sends his hellos!

    Like

  9. Wow, what a BEAUTIFUL dog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

