Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Birds at the park

8 Comments

Sunday afternoon I went to a park without Katie.  Don’t tell her, she’ll never forgive me.  I needed some time to myself and I wanted to walk on some nature trails where they don’t allow dogs.

At this park there is a heron rookery, and the herons were all paired up on their nests high in the oak trees out in the middle of a shallow lake. (Click on the pictures to see more detail.)

Imported Photos 00524

There’s a boardwalk built through the lily pads and cattails where you can sit and watch the herons, and later in the season the egrets on their nests.  The most exciting time is when the youngsters begin to explore and test their wings.

But right now it looks like the nests are all occupied by pairs of herons, I don’t know if there are eggs in the nests yet, but  certainly there are a number of pairs getting ready to be parents.

Imported Photos 00528

As I was watching from the boardwalk there arose a screeching to the left – sandhill cranes make such distinctive sounds.  A pair of them flew right toward us on the boardwalk, then across in front of us and on into the marsh to the right.  This is where I got the hugely cropped photo that’s currently my blog header.  In the photo below you can see the legs of the bird as he/she descends into the cattails.  It was so cool!

crain landing

THEN…on the way home I saw a pair of sandhill cranes feeding in a field near the road.  I turned around and went back.  They accommodated me and posed for quite awhile.

Imported Photos 00595

Aren’t they beautiful!

I had a great day on my own.  Katie had a great day with her Dad.

Win win.

🙂

Imported Photos 00540

 

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

8 thoughts on “Birds at the park

  1. what beautiful birds and great photos! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. They are stunning! Sounds like a relaxing day.

    Like

  3. We see a lot of egrets in the rice paddies around here and cranes.

    Like

  4. Herons and cranes are such regal birds, standing tall with those long necks stretched out. Good for you, taking some “me only” time! Life gets heavy and hard to balance without that, I think.

    Like

  5. Lovely birds! And it’s okay that you didn’t take Katie. She’ll understand that sometimes, in order to be a good and happy Mama, that you need some time all to yourself.

    Like

  6. Of course I won’t tell Katie! Sometimes, mamas need time alone — to regroup, you know — and doggies can’t always be by our sides. You got some lovely photos, and I know it must have soothed your soul to be outside in nature, where tentative signs of Spring are finally showing up!

    Like

  7. A heron rookery!! How cool. We had one near us in Ohio. Not sure if there’s one around here or not. There ought to be, if there isn’t. We surely have enough herons.
    I have never seen sandhill cranes. They are beautiful. So glad spring has finally come your way. 🙂

    Like

  8. Mom loves bird watching. Beautiful
    Lily & Edward

    Like

Leave a Reply

