Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Searching for threshold

16 Comments

This weeks WordPress photo challenge is ‘threshold.’  That’s an intriguing idea.  I checked the definition and found:

“A strip of wood, metal, or stone forming the bottom of a doorway and crossed in entering a house or room.”

And:

“The magnitude or intensity that must be exceeded for a certain reaction, phenomenon, result, or condition to occur or be manifested.”

Huh.  How exciting can a strip of wood, metal or stone at the bottom of a doorway be?  And how do you photograph intensity exceeded?

I also found:

“Any place or point of entering or beginning”

This seemed more workable.  Sunday morning I headed down to Ann Arbor because I remembered a plaque on the steps of the Student Union commemorating the spot that John F Kennedy stood when he announced the beginning of the Peace Corp.  I thought that it would be a fitting interpretation of the beginning of something significant.

As I drove past the main university campus I noted that the roads ahead, in front of the union, were closed.  So I found a parking spot and walked the few blocks.  I soon found why the roads were blocked as there was a road race going on, right past the Student Union!

Imported Photos 00494

Once I was able to get across the road I eagerly climbed the steps and searched.  The plaque was gone!  It has been there for years and years and years and I thought I must just be missing it…but after a through search I had to admit it was gone.  And so was my idea to represent the concept.

So I wandered back across the street and through the law library with it’s Gothic doors…

Imported Photos 00497

and courtyard…

Imported Photos 00504

…and towers.

Imported Photos 00513

It’s beautiful, but really…not thresholds.  This is the best I could find, down two levels in the basement of the law library building.

Imported Photos 00499

Not very interesting. But the prettiest threshold I could find.  So I gave up and drove cross country on pretty back roads to my favorite park where I enjoyed sunshine, lots of birds, blue water and a good book.

But that’s another blog.

Will I have anything at all for this week’s photo challenge?

I don’t know.  There’s one shot I’m thinking about, but it would be a stretch.  I’ll decide later in the week.  Maybe I’ll keep looking, but I don’t have much spare time this week, and I have no inspiration.

Stay tuned.

Imported Photos 00495

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Searching for threshold

  1. Geez…now it’s going to bother me all day~where’s the plaque and why would they take it down?

    What a beautiful campus!

    Like

  2. I visited the campus in Ann Arbor many, many years ago. It looks as beautiful as I remember. I think you covered a couple of the meanings of threshold in this post. Maybe all of them, with the race. 🙂

    Like

  3. It does seem odd it would just disappear – maybe they are cleaning it or something.

    Like

  4. Too bad you couldn’t find somebody official to ask what happened to that plaque! “Threshold” is a hard concept to depict — you’ve given us some good options, though, and I know you’ll choose just the right one.

    Like

  5. Threshold is such a strong word. The pictures are all good examples. What about the human or canine approach to the word—Katie just before she pounces, a toddler holding on to a table and taking those first few steps. A pregnant women in her 9th month. . .On the threshold of coming or going—hugging at the airport. A plane coming in for a landing. I don’t know but I like your challenge. :-D.

    Like

  6. Perhaps not what you were seeking, but lovely nonetheless.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  7. Now that’s a beautiful threshold
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. Love the new crane photo!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Thresholds (in Fiction and Real Life) | Pilot Fish

  10. Just thought of another ‘threshold’ definition used all the time in fearful dog training land…..dogs being ‘over threshold’ means the “point where a stimulus is at a strong enough intensity to cause a reaction”….so maybe Katie barking at a squirrel (or garbage bag) could count 🙂

    Like

  11. Good ideas you guys!

    Like

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Threshold – And into the lock |

  13. The mystery troubles me, too: why would the plaque be removed? But I love, love, love your banner with the sandhill crane! Heard a pair over our farmhouse late yesterday afternoon, after looking in vain for a pair I’d hoped would have returned by now to south Lake Leelanau. Nothing like them!

    Like

  14. How about a graduation picture ?

    Like

  15. Pingback: From old to new | Words 'n Pics

  16. Pingback: WordPress photo challenge | Change Is Hard

Leave a Reply

