Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Katie’s park

21 Comments

Katie here.  Have you missed me?  Let me tell you, I’ve been through the wringer!  Between my Dad being gone, and me being sick, it’s been really stressful here!  And did I tell you that our winter was terrible?!  I think my Mom showed you the picture of me in the snow with only my eyes and ears showing.

1504059_203464459855882_1482262602_n

(Don’t worry, I was really standing in my path and my person was over in the driveway, they didn’t really bury me!)

Well I’m happy to tell you that most of that darn snow has melted, my Dad is home, I feel great, and this past weekend my Mama took me to my park!  It’s been forever since I’ve had a real adventure.  I don’t count that unfortunate trip to the pet food store a couple of weeks ago when I accidentally wet all over the floor.  Mama doesn’t like to talk about that.  It was her fault anyway, so best not bring it up, OK?

Sunday I got to go to my park for the first time since last fall!  It was wonderful!  I did make my Mama carry me around this one big puddle, but other than that I had fun sniffing and checking out all the pee-mail that had been left for me.

 

Big cold puddle!

Big cold puddle!

It was wet and muddy, my feet got cold and I got a lot of stuff stuck to my furs, but it was still wonderful!  We walked way back to this little deck at the very edge of the park.

 

Mama likes this deck!

Mama likes this deck!

Mama spent a long time watching the ducks and geese out on the little lake until I reminded her that we were supposed to be walking around my park!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the way back to the car I got sort of tired.  After all this was my first long walk of the season.  But Mama had treats and we worked a little bit and that got me all excited again.  I was happy to get back in the car though and when we got home Mama and I took a nice long afternoon nap.

I love weekends!  I hope the snow is gone for good, because I think my Mama will take me back to the park next weekend if the weather is good!  I can not wait!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Katie’s park

  1. I’m with you! The snow here is gone too… spring around the corner! 🙂 You look so happy and ready for it!

    Like

  2. So glad that your dad is home and you got a long walk with your mama; everything looks so beautiful in your park; I think your spring is on the way now.

    Like

  3. Dear Katie, It must feel good for your feet to finally touch the ground.

    Like

  4. We all hope that the weather is good. We are tired of the weather.

    Like

  5. I must of seemed like FOREVER since you were able to go yo YOUR park…lets hope many wonderful weekend adventures are ahead of you

    Like

  6. Thank goodness things are getting back to normal
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  7. Katie, we’re all feeling good about getting OUTDOORS again!!!

    Like

  8. You’re not the first (or only) pup to wet on the floor at the pet store! Don’t feel bad, Princess (and I like the way you shifted all the blame to your mama!). Glad you made it to your park — paws crossed that the snows are GONE for good this time and Spring is really on its way!

    Like

  9. You and Chewy are two peas in a pod…can’t get their precious feet wet!

    I hope winter is gone for good, and you can get out and enjoy the spring. Glad your dad’s home too 🙂

    Like

  10. Hope your feeling better Katie, when you gotta go, you gotta go miss fluffy.
    Good to see you getting out and about again… lots of luv’s Frankie de tabby and the mutt x

    Like

    • Thanks Frankie! Katie says “It’s good to be feeling better!” She’s back on the job of annoying her Mama. She’s good at it. Has lots of practice.

      Like

  11. Oh, Katie. Miss Sadie and the Cowboy only dream of being picked up and carried around icy puddles. Come to think of it, that’s Miss Sadie’s dream. The Cowboy prefers to roll in them, especially if they contain smelly things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

