Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Spring? Are you sure?

14 Comments

Pretty

Pretty

This is not my garden.  Did you think maybe?  I can only hope.  First of all chipmunks have long since eaten all my crocus bulbs.  And second, my garden still looks like this right now:

Not pretty

Not pretty

This is, instead, a lovely handwritten note sent by a friend through snail mail, to surprise me on the first day of spring.  And it did indeed surprise me.  But more importantly it made me smile.  A lot.  The whole effect, the beautiful flowers and the getting something in the mail, made my day and I want to say thank you.  Thank you very much.  You know who you are.

In our part of the world it doesn’t look much like spring, though we got rain last night instead of more snow, so there is hope.  And a professor friend of mine posted on Facebook yesterday that the sandhill cranes were back.  She lives an hour south of me, so I expected I’d hear them soon.  They have such a distinctive cry you can’t confuse it with anything else.  And do you know what?  This very morning as Katie and I were out front slogging along in the soggy yard looking for the perfect spot there arose from the treetops across the street such a screeching that we both jumped.  The sound bounced off the houses and careened around spruce trees.  I never saw them, but it was evident they were right there!  I laughed out loud and Katie looked at me in question.  Did you hear that girl!?  Did you here THAT!  And what happened next just added proof to the pudding.

A red winged blackbird sang.  And sang again so there was no mistake.  Sometime last night, while we were lying awake listening to the rain on the roof the real spring arrived in my very own neighborhood.

Katie and I took the camera out back to see if we happened to have anything popping up from the ground.  All we found was this:

Faint hope

Faint hope

Do you see?  Let me get closer:

Proof

Proof

It’s not much, but in combination with my birds, well, I can finally let my shoulders fall back from up around my ears where they were shivering.  I can take a deep breath and taste the warm muggy days to come.  I can look out over my snow covered yard and envision the pear tree and redbud blooming.  Someday there will be daffodils after all.  I had so little faith.

Katie says all today means to her is that there is less snow on the deck and more sticks that need breaking up into sheltie sized pieces.  She thinks that’s good enough for now.

Sticks Mama!

Sticks Mama!

I think she’s a smart dog.

I know I am.

I know I am smart.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Spring? Are you sure?

  1. We were supposed to get snow this morning, but so far, nothing! Can’t wait for the snow to melt already.

    Spring is soooooooo close…….

    I really wish the first day of spring was a major holiday, like Christmas and Thanksgiving. I think it is worth celebrating! In fact, I often throw a “spring day” party in my classroom ~ with ‘dirt cake’ and springo (kind like bingo) games.

    Maybe next year I should send out spring cards like your friend did. She may be a trendsetter.

    Like

  2. after a couple of days in the 60s we are dropping back down into the 40’s this week….sigh – spring is being such a tease

    Like

    • 60’s? We’re back in the 20’s today but at least there’s sun. We might make it to 50 by the end of the week. Or maybe they are just humoring us with that. We’ll see. We’re so desperate to be warm again.

      Like

  3. I bet those sprouts will be up and blooming in no time! Emma’s a ‘stick’ dog too.

    Like

  4. There is that wonderful quickening of the heart and upturn of the lips when spring starts springing, isn’t there? I’ve been working at doing some spring cleanup outside the past two days and loving every little green thing I find smiling up at me.

    Like

  5. Sandhill cranes? Really? You’re minding me, though, that I heard Canada geese twice this past week, and one day I even saw them, flying NORTH!

    Katie and her sticks! Sarah is the same way, Isn’t it wonderful how much pleasure and excitement they can get from something so ordinary?

    Like

  6. I knew spring hadn’t abandoned you. So glad the flowers arrived. Perhaps they’ll help spring push winter out. 🙂

    Like

  7. A smart friend keeps telling me to live more in the moment, like my dog. My dog’s every day is his ‘favorite’. Look like you and Katie are already zen masters. Congrats on your daffodils… and on finding hope in every snow bank.

    Like

Leave a Reply

