Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Shadows

25 Comments

Those of you that live Somewhere Else, somewhere warm and sunny, might have noticed that others of us got hit with another major snowstorm yesterday.  We here in what appears to be Forever Winter were fooled by a day or two of warmth and sun earlier in the week.  The snow banks diminished.  We could see our driveway again.  And, as every year, we were lulled into thinking winter was over.  And then it snowed.

Hey Mama!  What happened to my path?

Hey Mama! What happened to my path?

And snowed and snowed.  Where I live, about an hour north of Detroit, we had nine inches of snow in just a few hours.  I know because I measured it before I hauled the snow blower back out of the garage.  Down in Detroit where they measure these kinds of things officially they got a little over 6 inches, leaving the region just about 2 inches shy of breaking our record for the all time snowiest winter in these parts.  Gee.  Maybe I should wish for one more storm.

But I probably don’t have to wish.  This is, after all, Michigan.  And it is not unusual for us to get snow in April…sort of a Michigan April Fool’s joke…on us…year after year.

Lonely leaf.

Lonely leaf.

I didn’t make it to work yesterday.  I tried..really really tried.  But there was too much snow falling during rush hour, too many accidents to maneuver around, too much ice on the windshield.  I called my boss after an hour of driving and turned around.  Katie was glad to see me.

This is supposed to be my NAP time Mama!

This is supposed to be my NAP time Mama!

And then….later in the afternoon the sun came out!  It was a miracle!

Happy sun.

Happy sun.

And I was so glad to be home to watch the sun create the prettiest shadows.

Shadows creeping across the yard.

Shadows creeping across the yard.

And even though it was very cold I couldn’t help but go outside every time I saw something beautiful.

The moon smiles down.

The moon smiles down.

And whenever Katie asked to go out.  Which seemed to be quite often.  So I got a little laundry done, some cooking done, some reading done.  But mostly I sat and watched the snow come down, then watched the sun play with lines and shapes on the fresh snow…

Shadows on the deck.

Shadows on the deck.

…and took some deep breaths and tried to relax before heading into the office again today.

I don’t want to think about any more spring snow storms.  So I think I will just hide my head in the sand…um…snow until it’s really summer.

I don't see any snow Mama!

I don’t see any snow Mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

25 thoughts on “Shadows

  1. Nice photos. I hope you really get your spring soon.

    Like

  2. Great post! I love your optimistic and humorous side in spite of the unrelenting Winter. No sense spending a snow day at home grumbling, good for you to have found ways to enjoy it.

    Like

  3. Your pictures are wonderful! Beauty is what I found in winter when I had time to explore it, but it was different when I had to drive to work so I understand the ambivalence. I think Katie and I have a lot in common. There are times when I want to bury my head, too. 🙂 I hope spring finds its way to you soon.

    Like

  4. WInter has a strong grip on us this year. Bitter and cruel, yet so much beauty to be found, and you sure did find it!

    The best part of winter ~ the gleeful appreciation of spring!

    Like

  5. I’m not sure whether I envy you or not as we don’t / won’t/ never have any snow over here and right now we’re facing draught, water rationing and the hazardous haze but I do love and enjoy seeing the pictures of Katie in the snow and your other snow pictures. They’re simply beautiful.

    Like

  6. It truly was gorgeous when the sun came out! I am fortunate because, being retired, I don’t have to go out. And being in a condominium, someone else does the plowing. Hope there is no snow on the 22, so you can come to the A2SO concert. Love, Aunt Becky

    Like

  7. that is what gets you through it – looking for the beauty …it is there and you found it

    Like

  8. We will have to look for shadows next time it snows — it’s supposed to snow fur us on Sunday night. Guess we don’t have to wait that long to look fur snow shadows.

    Like

  9. Mom misses all that snow. We get lots is sun here in CA. Since it will be 90 tomorrow, I will send you some sun
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  10. What an up-and-down post! Sorry that you got snow. Happy that the sun came up and illuminated all that fresh beauty. Sorry that you had to drive in it with all those accidents. Happy that you got to play with Katie instead. Hope this weekend treats you well!

    Like

    • I’m looking forward to the weekend…well I guess looking forward isn’t the right word because it’s already here…but still…I am going to do a lot of catching up on cleaning and grocery store and sleep. If Katie lets me (the sleeping part).

      Like

  11. I heard y’all got some more snow. We’re expecting snow showers on Sunday. Today is in the 50s but gray and quite windy. I took Dallas for a long walkie this morning and we saw some daffodils peeking through the ground, so hang on, Spring IS coming! It’s just taking far too long, in my mind, ha!

    Like

    • It’s going to be cold here on Sunday too. I’ve been afraid to look beyond that…because I don’t think we’re out of the woods yet in the way of snow.

      Like

  12. Oh dear! I feel like you and Katie, I’d like to hide my head from winter. That last storm missed us around here – only a dusting. I think I’d go cry in a corner if we got another 9 inches like you did. We are still blanketed in snow here too – but dirty crusty ugly snow, with just a few peeks of brown, muddy grass starting to poke through.

    Like

    • Our snow piles are dirty too…with patches of mud and street grime. But yesterday the wind sculpted the flat places…I call them snow dimples…more in my next post.

      Like

  13. Yep, oh guys, we have Spring, but have heard about the snow storm… BIG CHILL has nothing on it… Keep warm guys, Think of Summer, bypass Spring. 🙂 xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

